Cajun Blackened Redfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
My husband is from Nawlins (New Orleans to the Northerners). He says this recipe is the REAL thing...very authentic. It really is delicious. I made one without the cayenne for our son. It also tasted great, though to my surprise, he liked the spicy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
my family thought that the fish was a bit to spicy. next time i make this dish i'll have to tone down the peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I like fish a lot, and this is my first try with a cajun do. Terrific! I goofed a little in not having the pan quite hot enf to sear -- I nearly cooked the fish in this step! I had also changed a little by using some olive oil in the pan because fridge temperature fish dipped in melted butter just caused butter globs on the first piece, and nothing for the rest. I sprinkled the mixed spices onto each piece with clean fingers ...tidier that way. We had it with ratatouille and a bottle of zinfindel. Killer good! I will do again and, after searing, just simmer in a little of the dressing instead of baking which IMO is an unnecessary, drying out step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Big taste difference from the Louisiana original (from Chef Paul Prudhomme) with half of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric George
Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
If you like hot and spicy cajun food you'll love this recipe. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
While this recipe does sound tasty, members should be aware that it is not the original, authentic "Blackend Redfish" that was made famous in New Orleans and around the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Smply Delisious! I will try this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I changed a few things. Used sea bass instead of redfish. Reduced cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon ginger. Didn't have lemon pepper so added extra teaspoon black pepper. Used 1/2 teaspoon of "fake" salt. Sprayed on olive oil instead of butter. Made Good Seasons Italian dressing. Dressing called for 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. I put 3 tablespoons of raspberry blush balsamic vinegar and filled rest of 1/4 cup with balsamic vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives is a subtle sweetness. (um, not very Cajun, but tasty!) My wife said that, "it is a restaurant grade dish". I don't know about all of that, but it was very tasty and I appreciated her compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I tried this recipe for supper and my husband and I agreed it was delicious! I was skeptical about the salad dressing, but it made a wonderful sauce. I used "lite" salad dressing, by the way. This is a recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I caught a limit of red fish last weekend and wanted a new recepe. This was great and easy! Not too spicy but good flavor. My 12 year old son thought it needed a bit more spice so he added some Tony's! If you have never blackened fish, be sure to get your pan HOT on high and put a little olive oil(butter burns quick at this heat) in the pan and sear in those seasonings until they start to turn a little black but do not burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States