Cajun Blackened Redfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
While this recipe does sound tasty, members should be aware that it is not the original, authentic "Blackend Redfish" that was made famous in New Orleans and around the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Very tasty. Great way to have a healthier fish dish. I used Smart Balance in place of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I changed a few things. Used sea bass instead of redfish. Reduced cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon ginger. Didn't have lemon pepper so added extra teaspoon black pepper. Used 1/2 teaspoon of "fake" salt. Sprayed on olive oil instead of butter. Made Good Seasons Italian dressing. Dressing called for 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. I put 3 tablespoons of raspberry blush balsamic vinegar and filled rest of 1/4 cup with balsamic vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives is a subtle sweetness. (um, not very Cajun, but tasty!) My wife said that, "it is a restaurant grade dish". I don't know about all of that, but it was very tasty and I appreciated her compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I used tilapia instead and as I couldnt find the cayenne pepper, used normal pepper instead. I didn't find it amazing but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I tried this recipe for supper and my husband and I agreed it was delicious! I was skeptical about the salad dressing, but it made a wonderful sauce. I used "lite" salad dressing, by the way. This is a recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
My husband is from Nawlins (New Orleans to the Northerners). He says this recipe is the REAL thing...very authentic. It really is delicious. I made one without the cayenne for our son. It also tasted great, though to my surprise, he liked the spicy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Smply Delisious! I will try this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
my family thought that the fish was a bit to spicy. next time i make this dish i'll have to tone down the peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
If you like hot and spicy cajun food you'll love this recipe. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States