Cajun Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Mouthwateringly good. Ate it a few meals in a row and wish I had more. As others said, the spices are very balanced - it's hot, but not overpowering and not enough to make your eyes tear up. Now, I was probably doing something dumb, so hopefully another reviewer could answer this - but I couldn't get it to blacken with that 1/4 c of butter in the pan. Eventually I just poured most of the butter off (by then it was browned, so it was extra delicious anyways lol) and left the fish a little longer in the (now dryer) pan. But by then they were cooked, so I just took them off as they were and topped them with the browned butter I'd drained earlier (didn't use the remaining 1/2 cup at all, they'd have been drowned). Still one of the best meals I've had lately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The spice mixture is very good, I omitted the cayenne pepper and it still had a little spice to it. If you like your fish a little salty, add a little extra. One word of caution, if you cook it on a cast iron skillet on an electric stove make sure the heat is on about 8-9. 3 minutes wasn't long enough to fully cook it on 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Really good; it IS spicy tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Too much heat, not enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tasty! I found it a little too salty, and i reduced the amount of cayenne.It could have used more garlic but overall it was a hit! I marinated the fish in lemon juice before applying the rub and seared them in a non stick skillet in the kitchen not outside. They turned out fine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy's Little Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buna, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a WONDERFUL blacking season (THANKS Paul!). I have made this a few times. It is best to just make 3x or 4x and keep in a jar for future use. ALSO, I melted the butter (i used salted) and brushed it on the fish; then sprinkled the seasoning on the fish and blackened in my cast iron pan (outside on my gas grill burner) without adding any additional butter/oil and it was FANTASTIC! The seasoning stayed on and crisped nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was my first time making catfish, and the whole family thought it was outstanding. I actually made two different versions, one for my husband and me, and the other for my little girls. I mixed the seasonings exactly as written, except I omitted the cayenne pepper for my daughters. I grilled the mild fish, and then used the cast iron skillet for the spicy fish for my husband and me. Both versions were very tasty. I agree that the balance of the spices is what really makes this recipe so good. The one suggestion I might have is if you don't like spicy, you might want to cut back a little on the cayenne. We will definitely be making this recipe again. In fact, I'm looking forward to using the leftovers for catfish cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
As the submitter recommends, I always use a cast iron skillet (on the charcoal grill) to blacken fish - it can't be beat. This is a tried and true, classic and dependable preparation for blackened fish. I did use grouper, however, as I don't care for catfish. The blackening seasoning is what really stood out for me - it's a nice, balanced blend, although as a personal preference I backed off on the cayenne somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! Thank-you! I've tried varies types of fish ie cod, salmon, orange roughy. Delicious. A little to spicy for some of my guests. More fore me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States