Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This has an excellent flavor and is reasonably easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These just are so yummy. I did 1/2c head country mild BBQ and 1/2c head country spicy and 3/4c of peach jam. Sooooo good. A nice little spicy kick. A huge hit at the SB party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Huge Hit! Used Tony Chachere's for the 'cajun spice'. Excellent, easy to make and the meatballs were lovely and moist without falling apart. They don't taste spicy at first, but there is a definite 'kick' afterwards. These will be on every appetizer menu for holidays and lake weekends from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe!! The only thing I changed was, i substituted half of the ground beef with pork sausage, and cut back on the cajun seasoning a little, also I used dry bread crumbs!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Eh. These were allright. Not awful, but not worthy of a repeat either (IMHO). For one, I didn't care for the texture of these at all. I guess I prefer a firmer bite.... I did enjoy the sauce, however. My fiance also enjoyed the sauce (which surprises me because he isn't a fan of "sweet" sauces). NOTE: If you bake your meatballs on a rack set inside a baking dish (try using a roasting pan), your meatballs will not be greasy at all - try it! Also, if you have a large pot or Dutch oven, simply combine your sauce ingredients, whisk to incorporate, and when your meatballs are done, drop into the sauce and heat on low for 10 minutes or so. A slow cooker would also work well for this purpose. Just be sure to allow enough simmering time for your meatballs to absorb some of the yummy sauce! Served as a main course with a side of Zatran's cheesy dirty rice and roasted garlic cauliflower (SHELLERY), this was a decent meal. I am just not overwhelmingly impressed (sorry!). Thanks for sharing anyways, Doreen. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
so i dont eat red meat but made then for a party and they were completely the first to go in no time! i made them with 1/2 cayane pepper and 1/2 chili powder just because thats whati had on hand, froze the meatballs a week before the party, cooked them, added in peach peserves/diana's spicy bbq sauce with some brown sugar addded (found the bbq sauce very vinegar-y) then i let them sit on low for 5 hours in the sauce which really let the flavour sink. great app and a great change from the ususal! thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Bombshell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Yummy! These were sooooo good! I made a few changes, though. Used ground chicken instead of beef, egg whites instead of the whole egg and apricot preserves instead of peach. I heated the bbq sauce and apricot preserves together, added the cooked meatballs and let them sit a couple of minutes. They were awesome served over brown rice. Next time I makes these, I will use less milk and maybe more bread crumbs as the meatballs were really moist and it was difficult to shape them into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I wanted to make this lower in sugar and fat so I made a couple changes. I used the In-A-Pinch Ketchup from this site and made it with "zero" cola so I could add sweetness without adding excess sugar or calories. I added Liquid Smoke, worchestershire sauce, a TBSP. dijon mustard and a little Frank's Hot Sauce into the homemade ketchup, then stirred in SUGAR FREE apricot jam. I sauteed half an onion and a little garlic in a tbsp. of EVOO, then added the sauce ingredients and let it reduce. In the meatballs, I used a homemade cajun seasoning with only a portion of the salt, two egg whites and instead of the full amount of bread crumbs, I used half parmesan cheese. These baked up nicely and even though the sauce was homemade and mostly sugar-less, we all enjoyed it. I'd make this again for sure. I served this with Pecan Rice, which is also from this site. This made enough for a full meal and a container full for lunch for Husband tomorrow. NOTE: I did not use two tbsp. of cajun seasoning. I used half a batch (with only 1/4 tsp. salt) of the Cajun seasoning mix, which is also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. It was so good. I used my Aunt's homemade peach jam. I think that made it extra special. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie&Pablo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Oh, these are good. They are not the best meatballs I've ever had, but very very yummy. I had some cajun seasoning and my fiance really seemed to like it on the chicken, so I decided to search for something with beef and the seasoning. I made a couple of changes because 1. my fiance is allergic to onions and 2. I didn't have any peach preserves. I also didn't have any barbecue sauce, so I ended up making my own, chopping some pineapple slices in the blender, and adding them to the sauce. The flavour is unlike any meatball I've ever had, and we ended up eating way too many. They're pretty addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It'sABella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States