Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Absolutely the best meatballs. I get asked to make these for every function, whether it's a pitch in or not. I like mine really spicy so I add more hot sauce, cayenne pepper, habanero powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes. For the sauce I use apricot preserves as I prefer them over peach. You can also use half Italian sausage and half hamburger. These meatballs are great for sandwiches and pasta too, although with just regular marinara sauce. And don't over roll the meatballs; they stay more moist if they aren't too compacted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I substitued turkey burger, but I will try with the beef. Very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sas1329

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious! Exactly what I was looking for- a little twist on the traditional party meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great, just great...no amazing! I followed the recipe, except I used ground turkey. My husband, who hates meatballs, loved them! I've actually got a batch in the oven right now. They are great to freeze and pull out when guests are over. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were pretty good! I thought because the mixture was so moist that they wouldn't stick together, but they stayed together and cooked perfectly in the oven! Made a huge batch for my bunco group. They liked them although a couple of the girls said they were too spicy. My son and husband had the leftovers and LOVED them! I also used apricot instead of peach. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe closely, and used Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce following suggestion of a reviewer, and used apricot preserves instead of peach preserves, and Frank's Hot sauce. I tasted them out of the oven and they were quite salty. But later were not as salty when they sat in the sauce. I used McCormick's Cajun spice and went back to re-read that salt was the first ingredient. I will try a different brand Cajun next time or use less. The meatballs were delicious as an appetizer meatball, but did not taste Cajun at all with the sweet sauce. I recommend using a BBQ sauce with more kick or mesquite flavor instead, and I will try with peach preserves which may be less sweet. Quantity: I made 6 pounds of ground beef, and got about 160-170 appetizer meatballs (avg 26-30 meatballs for 1lb.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
very tasteful, made walnut size meatballs, much easier to just bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Wonderful addition to our Mardi Gras Potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
A good, basic recipe... good flavors. I have used the recommended sauce combo (preserves, bbq) and a homemade sauce... both worked just fine. It's BBQ meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are wonderful! The sauce is to die for! Served to a party of 50... nothing left and rave reviews! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States