Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These are fantastic! The only substitution I made was to use apricot rather than peach preserves due to what was available at the store. I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and they were a big hit at my holiday party. If you are going to have them out for several hours in a crockpot as I did, I would suggest doubling the bbq sauce/preserve combo as it tended to be absorbed. Also, spray the crockpot with cooking spray for easier cleanup. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
These meatballs are just fantastic and such a nice change of pace from the traditional Italian flavor of most meatballs. I've made these tree times so far, changing only the hot sauce. The first time I made them with Franks Red Hot Chili and Lime, which was delicious. The second I used simple Tabasco. This most recent I used Cholula. I think I'll stick with Cholula because it has just the right zip, and you can't beat the subtle tang. I love this recipe and highly recommend it to anyone who's contemplating giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
delicious! The first time I did this recipie my meat eating friends couldn't believe how good they were. I also mixed the BBQ sauce and preserves in the meatballs and then baked them instead of using it as a sauce and it worked out really well. I actually prefer them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
These meatballs are awesome! I brought an entire crockpot full of them to a potluck and the entire batch was gone! Note: I used a little less peach preserves than called for to keep a spicy flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are delicious! I used less milk and a little more bread crumbs. I also doubled the sauce to keep them warm in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I made this recipe for a gathering of friends. I made a batch for 12 people. I tasted one meat ball before the gathering. I got in line to eat and all the meatballs were gone. This is a great recipe and quite a hit with my friends. Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I made these for a pot luck - they were gone in no time!! I kept hearing people talking about those "yummy" meatballs - and then got people asking me for the recipe. Followed the recipe to the "tee" - so easy to make - I only discovered this recipe a week ago and have made them 3 times since as my family love them - works perfectly - tastes wonderful - thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
DOREEN, I LOVED THIS RECIPE! THANKS ALOT AS I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR A GOOD DISH TO BRING TO MY FAMILY PARTIES. YOU'RE A DOLL!! GEORGIEANNA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I brought these to a party ! A huge hit !! They have a good kick to them but not on "fire".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I've made these meatballs for potlucks at work and for family gatherings. Everyone absolutely loves them! They can't believe that they are homemade. They give a wonderful twist to your traditional meatball. These are truly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States