Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Oh, these are good. They are not the best meatballs I've ever had, but very very yummy. I had some cajun seasoning and my fiance really seemed to like it on the chicken, so I decided to search for something with beef and the seasoning. I made a couple of changes because 1. my fiance is allergic to onions and 2. I didn't have any peach preserves. I also didn't have any barbecue sauce, so I ended up making my own, chopping some pineapple slices in the blender, and adding them to the sauce. The flavour is unlike any meatball I've ever had, and we ended up eating way too many. They're pretty addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It'sABella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm giving this one star because the meatballs were at least edible. Three people ate this. Two finished because they were hungry and this was what was to eat and the third person ate the meatballs but didn't like it at all. The two things just didn't go together well at all - the flavor of the meatballs and the sauce that is. I think using ground turkey it would have tasted better but this is in no way a keeper for my family. I am going to stick with my meatball and sauce recipe and stop trying others I am tempted to try because they have all been BIG dissapointments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were very good. My friends loved them. I made them with turkey - and the were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeecooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Really good meatballs. I left out the onion and did not have peach preserves so used raspberry instead. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
i would have given this five stars because everyone seemed to love it... except the hubby that is. he liked the meatballs but didn't love the sauce (i think next time i will use just regular BBQ sauce to please him).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made these for a Mardi Gras get together and they were gone in no time! I thought I'd made too many but it turns out I didn't make enough! I made one batch with ground turkey (the other with beef, which I don't eat) and they were excellent. As a side note - if you use turkey you'll need to throw in some extra bread crumbs to help it form a better meatball. I followed the recipe exactly, though instead of putting the sauce on top I just tossed it in the crock pot. Delicious! For the seasoning I used the "Creole seasoning blend" from this site. It's an excellent seasoning and not at all salty, which seems to be the bulk of complaints about this recipe. It was so good I'm making more for dinner tonight. I think I'll toss them with some rice. Yum! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great appetizer for a Mardi Gras dinner party. I made the meatballs the night before and was not too impressed but after I added the sauce the next day, I really enjoyed them. I believe another reviewer suggested trying them over egg noodles for an entree dish which I will try next. want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This meatballs were okay. They didn't hold their shape well when combined with sauce. May try them again with a little more binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These were great! The Follwed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! I'll make these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I am assuming that the "Cajun seasoning" called for in this recipe is something like Tony Chachere.s? I used this, plus I doubled the meatball recipe. I WAY too salty but it doesnt look like anyone else did. Did I use the wrong seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States