Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great, just great...no amazing! I followed the recipe, except I used ground turkey. My husband, who hates meatballs, loved them! I've actually got a batch in the oven right now. They are great to freeze and pull out when guests are over. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were pretty good! I thought because the mixture was so moist that they wouldn't stick together, but they stayed together and cooked perfectly in the oven! Made a huge batch for my bunco group. They liked them although a couple of the girls said they were too spicy. My son and husband had the leftovers and LOVED them! I also used apricot instead of peach. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe closely, and used Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce following suggestion of a reviewer, and used apricot preserves instead of peach preserves, and Frank's Hot sauce. I tasted them out of the oven and they were quite salty. But later were not as salty when they sat in the sauce. I used McCormick's Cajun spice and went back to re-read that salt was the first ingredient. I will try a different brand Cajun next time or use less. The meatballs were delicious as an appetizer meatball, but did not taste Cajun at all with the sweet sauce. I recommend using a BBQ sauce with more kick or mesquite flavor instead, and I will try with peach preserves which may be less sweet. Quantity: I made 6 pounds of ground beef, and got about 160-170 appetizer meatballs (avg 26-30 meatballs for 1lb.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
very tasteful, made walnut size meatballs, much easier to just bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Wonderful addition to our Mardi Gras Potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
A good, basic recipe... good flavors. I have used the recommended sauce combo (preserves, bbq) and a homemade sauce... both worked just fine. It's BBQ meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are wonderful! The sauce is to die for! Served to a party of 50... nothing left and rave reviews! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
i make this all the time now and everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These meatballs have quickly become a family favorite! We bring them to every function that we go to and everyone looks forward to them. They're usually gone 20 minutes after they're put out. It's also a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooklyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
WhooWhee! Did these have some heat. And I like spicy. The sweet sauce did a good job of taming it some and making them palatable. I didn't care too much for the sauce though. The meatballs would have been better without the hot pepper sauce as that seemed the dominant flavor. And I like Tabasco. And spice. But these were just too spicy and I really didn't care much for them. They were very easy to fix though and used things I usually have available. Thanks, I enjoyed trying out a new dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States