Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I served these over egg noodles. My whole family loved it. Changes included using water instead of milk and using oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. Also, I used a variety of peach preserves that had no sugar or artificial sweeteners. A quick note on Cajun spice -- some varieties have salt and some do not. You will need to keep this in mind and make adjustments as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
First time ever making meatballs so I figured I'd try some less traditional meatballs like the ones in this recipe. All I can say is WOW. I made just a few changes, like 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder instead of onion because I hate onions and A1 instead of worcestershire but it still turned out great. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These meatballs were AWESOME!!!! They had the best flavour and everyone raved about them. They were not too spicy at all. I couldn't find peach preserves so I used apricot jam, I baked the meatballs on a cookie rack on a cookie sheet. They were sooooo good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I used ground turkey instead of the beef and added some some oregano. SO yummy... Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
these were good, spicy, but not too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
The flavor is just outstanding. It's a very different meatball with a nice little kick. One of the other reviewers said to mix in the BBQ sauce with the meatballs. This made them overly wet and they didn't want to stay in meatball form. Next time I will keep the sauce separate and put on top of the meatballs after they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
MmMm Good! Next time I'll add some cayenne pepper for a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I Followed this recipe to the tee and it was excellent. It was a big hit at our party! I am making it again today for Christmas Eve. Very tastee. My Husband and like spicy food. Thank You! Pamela Malm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I used apricot instead of peach preserves. Didnt find this at all too salty nor too spicy. Being from Louisiana, I used Tony Chachere's of course. This receipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American in Sweden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Uddevalla, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The 1st time I made these I cut the Cajun seasoning ( Tony Chachere's) and hot sauce in half since there would be young children eating them. Everyone loved and raved about them. The 2nd time I added the amounts called for in the recipe and they were much too salty. I'll find the lower salt version for next time or just use less. This is a very good recipe though and is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States