Cajun Appetizer Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I was running a small kitchen in China the last half a year. I used this recipe. Really good! You're right, the meatballs hold just fine in the freezer making them a real easy one for doing individual orders. I did what others mentioned and cooked mine in the oven with the sauce. I made extra sauce when making mine. I liked to lay down a layer of sauce on the plate and place the balls on top. Very nice and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jameson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
pretty good. we ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
We made these today and they were delicious! We ate them over white rice. Cajuns eat alot of rice! I doubled the sauce amount for that reason. I used Tony Chachere's for a great kick. I found the 2 Tblspns made it slightly salty. Next time I will use 1T of regular and 1T of salt-free Chachere's seasoning. We made them smaller size and got 58 out of this recipe! Will do again!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The sauce for this recipe was VERY good, but the meatballs were bland and kind of icky (very little flavor without the sauce). I was really disappointed, given the high ratings. I will stick to my own meatball recipe and just use the sauce if we feel like something other than red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very Very good, they were a hit at my Halloween party! I wish I would have made more because they went so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRLangille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent! I used 1/3 cup regular oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and sweet orange marmalade instead of peach preserves. Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Made these as it is written changed the cooking process. I browned the meatballs in a skillet, then baked for a bit. Meanwhile combining all sauce ingredients in a crock pot(cooked sauce for 2 hrs on low). Took out the meatballs from oven,put them in the sauce and left them in the crockpot. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canadiangirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I served these over egg noodles. My whole family loved it. Changes included using water instead of milk and using oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. Also, I used a variety of peach preserves that had no sugar or artificial sweeteners. A quick note on Cajun spice -- some varieties have salt and some do not. You will need to keep this in mind and make adjustments as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
First time ever making meatballs so I figured I'd try some less traditional meatballs like the ones in this recipe. All I can say is WOW. I made just a few changes, like 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder instead of onion because I hate onions and A1 instead of worcestershire but it still turned out great. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These meatballs were AWESOME!!!! They had the best flavour and everyone raved about them. They were not too spicy at all. I couldn't find peach preserves so I used apricot jam, I baked the meatballs on a cookie rack on a cookie sheet. They were sooooo good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States