Caipirinha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
What a terrific cocktail. No driving afterward, though! it is potent...superfine sugar makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Being a Brazilian myself, I must say that our original recipe for Caipirinha takes lemon (Tahiti lemon), not lime. One more hint: I know this could be hard for you to find in the USA, but try using the artesanal Cachaça, not the industrial one. If you have more than a few drinks, the industrial Cachaça (Velho Barreiro, Ypioca, 51) will probably give you a headache and a hangover the next day. A good quality Cachaça (artesanal), won't! Cheers from Brazil!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Being Brazilian I do assure you that Caipirinha is just great! I agree with the other reviewer who said that one should use lemmon instead of lime. Also, it would be better to use cachaça but there is a variation of this drink with vodka( it's called caipivodka) that is also quite nice. If you want to do something diferent you can use other fruits as well ( here it is quite common to use it also done with passion fruit). Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
As a Brazilian myself, I prepare Caipirinha in a slightly different way: the ingredients are still the same (although you can substitute the cachaça for dark rum - it will then be called "Caipirissima"). You should crush the sliced lime (unpeeled, please!) and the sugar in a glass, mix in the cachaça (or rum) and a few ice cubes. As for the comments on using either limes or lemons, I can assure you that what is sold in the US as lime is exactly what Brazilians call "limão Tahiti". So, go with the lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This drink is stunning, and believe me being brazilian myself I can assure you that caipirinha is made with lime and not lemon!!! Shame on the brazilians who said it's made with lemon :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This drink tastes like heaven in a hot summer afternoon.. but you need three ou four teaspoons of sugar, a inch of pineaple juice and the ice should be crushed.. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Almada, Setúbal, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
My favorite drink, and it will never change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is my favorite drink too, but I made a little different: I doubled the amount of lime and sugar, mash them together in a glass and it's very important to peel the limes otherwise it will taste too strong. Then add the ice and I used vodka instead of cachaca, just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Add an extra teaspoon of sugar. I make double batches and muddle the sugar and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterican26
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Super eash drink. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Caipirinha Cocktail

This sweet-tart, sugarcane rum concoction is the national cocktail of Brazil.

Pisco Sour Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with grape brandy, lime juice, and a little egg white.

Air Mail Cocktail

An elegant rum and lime-juice cocktail topped with sparkling wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States