Caipirinha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
As a Brazilian I've made many caipirinhas professionally. You definitely want to go with a Handcrafted/Artesnal Cachaca. I always use Cachaca São Paulo. No hangover and excellent quality with a competitive price. The half lime should be cut into cubes muddled with the sugar, add ice then the Cachaca. The secret is in the shake. If your caipirinha looks like a carbonated drink you have made an excellent one. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very simple and straightforward recipe! Only problem is that some brazilians always insisted in mix up the things and translate "limão" as "lemon", what is completely wrong: "Limão"(the green fruit) is lime, and "lima" (the yellow one) is lemon, in portuguese. I believe that thousands of poor american citizens were instructed the wrong way on caipirinha recipe. Blame on brazilians bad english knowledge (I`m one of them - but I do not confuse "vital" things like that...). One more thing: caipirinha is made of lime, sugar and cachaça on the rocks. Everything else is not caipirinha. Period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberto R Mola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
as a Scotsman who has been to Brasil on many occasions- here is my take - 1. Yes limes only please. 2. Cane sugar only, unrefined if possible. 3. Im sure its great with pineapple and many other things but then it aint a Caiparinha. 4. No matter how good the cachaca, or how well you follow the recipe or how good the company is - it'll never ever ever taste the same as it does in a bar anywhere in Brasil with the samba music blaring and the beautiful multicultural crazy clientel all around you - so do yourself a favour and go visit the most beautiful, hospitable and downright loco country in the world! and Yes Scotland runs a very close second- we just don't get the weather :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlene Zerolnick Karu
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I used 2 tsp of cane sugar and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ose22@mac.com
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I had one at a Brazilian restaurant and loved it, so of course had to make it at home. The cachaca is very strong so I need to work on this recipe a bit yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Way too little sugar in this recipe. I use a rounded tablespoon. You want enough sugar to saturate the mix. There should be a little granulated sugar at the bottom of the glass once it is all stirred together. Sugar should be ground into the lime. I use a mortar & pestle. You want to bruise the peel of the lime to bring out the zest. I pour the lime and sugar into a glass with crushed ice, rinse the mortar with cachaca, and stir it into the glass. Wow! Best ingredients? As one reviewer says, good cachaca. Brazilian limes, way better than those I get in the States. And, O Samba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Try with 2-3 oucnces of Midori melon liquer! yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Delicious! Novo Fogo is my favorite cachaca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Nothing beats this on a hot day! I was in Rio for 10 days last year and had caipirinhas at a dozen different locations. Never saw a lemon. They were ALWAYS made with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caipirinha Cocktail

This sweet-tart, sugarcane rum concoction is the national cocktail of Brazil.

Pisco Sour Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with grape brandy, lime juice, and a little egg white.

Air Mail Cocktail

An elegant rum and lime-juice cocktail topped with sparkling wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States