Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made this as instructed minus the hot sauce. I also bought parmesan croutons and crushed them up vs using plain old bread crumbs. It added a better crunch and flavor to it. As for baking, the broiling at the end is great as it gives it the top the extra crunchy texture. Overall, I am giving it a 4 as I don't think I'm done tweaking the recipe or searching for something better. Maybe it was the Worcestershire sauce...don't know yet, but not bad for an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
We were a little disappointed with this recipe. It was OK, but we didn't think it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
The consistency wasn't what I thought it was going to be - too stringy and not creamy enough. I think velveeta would be helpful in this dish... it was very bland for my family's taste. Each of us only took the spoonfull we were served and didn't go back for more. I think I'll try a different recipe from this site next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe was good but too greasy for me. If I make it again I will def. make it in a 9X13 dish (I used a round 2 qt dish) I will also omit some of the cheese and melt the cheese in teh milk mixture like suggested. It came out a little lumpy.I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laur laur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I've been in search of a good baked mac 'n cheese recipe for years. The recipes I tried were good, but the texture or taste was never quite what I was looking for. I told my husband I wanted baked mac 'n cheese like we had in the school cafeteria back in the 70's. I was so happy when I ran across "Cafeteria Macaroni and Cheese." It was just what I was looking for! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Delish! Total comfort food. I prepared exactly to the recipe and my four year old loved it. Definitely not low fat, somewhat oily, but good! Keep in mind that the depth of dish you put it into will affect the end result significantly. I put mine in a lasagna pan and it made it too dry. Try a deep, small dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Really good....I love the hard cheese in the corners. Different from my other recipes but really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I used gluten free penne pasta for this due to gluten allergy. I prefer the Tinkyada brand made with brown rice. Also used 2% mexcan cheese with cheddar and jack cheese as well as some 2% velveta that I had left. This turned out very creamy and the entire pan disappeared in no time. I didn't put the bread crumbs on (due to allergy). But, I don't think anyone missed it. Also used a bit of cayanne pepper instead of hot sauce, as I didn't have any on hand. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I have been looking for a good mac and cheese recipe for years. I never seem to be happy with them, until i tired this one. It was delicious and everyone loved it and it was the first dish to be gone at our party. I used shredded cheddar a little velveeta and some shredded mozzerella and on top i ueds panko bread crumbs. Perfect, creamy and not gritty or grainy like some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States