Cafeteria Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not only am I new to cooking carrot souffle, I'm new to eating it too. I'd never eaten it before I made this recipe, so I had no preconceived notions of what it should taste like. It’s great! I don’t think there’s any way to mess up this one. I’ve made it twice now, differently, and it’s still good. I used the calculator to make a single serving in a small ramekin. I made a couple modifications for cholesterol purposes & for speed… un-melted “I can’t believe it’s not butter” instead of melted butter, “egg beaters” instead of eggs, and a bag of pre-shredded carrots. Since I didn’t boil, mash, or blend the carrots, they probably took up more room than usual in the ramekin (one time I poured in a little more egg, the other time I didn’t). One time I used baking powder & I the other time I didn’t. One time I cut the sugar in half & the other time I didn’t. I didn’t have confectioners’ sugar either time, so I sprinkled with brown sugar. I’ve already recommended this recipe to others, and I’ll definitely be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very mild and delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great dish! This turned out exactly as I had hoped -- both flavor and texture wise. I followed the recipe as written, and it came out of the oven virtually perfect. I cooked it the day before Thanksgiving and warmed it up from refrigerated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. We have had it for the past few years for Thanksgiving instead of sweet potato casserole/candied yams. I always add a little ground cinnamon. This year, I ran out of room in the oven, so I made it in the crock pot (2 hours/High). It worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this 12 servings and cooked in a 3 quart Pyrex at 350 for 1hr 15min and it was AMAZING! The entire family loved it, even the kids! I didn't add any confectioners sugar to the top, it was really sweet to begin with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LikeAButerfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is the YUMMIEST carrot recipe EVER! The trick is to use a food processor and puree the carrots. I use 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar the rest is the same. I have catered this dish at rehearsal dinners and its always on our holiday table! A family favorite! My husband calls it carrot candy! HA! Men!!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
If one separates the egg whites and yolks ...beat the whites and slightly beat the yolks before mixing in...makes the product more fluffy....try it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This smelled so good while it was baking. Everyone was excited to try it, but no one liked it. I can't explain why, but it had an almost artificial flavor to it. I hate to give any recipe such a low rating, but this was just not to our liking and we usually love carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I make it pretty often since my husband is picky about what kinds of veggies he'll eat, but he loves carrots. Instead of boiling my own carrots, I use 2 cans of canned carrots. I also use less butter and sugar, around 2 tablespoons of butter and maybe 1/3 to 1/2 cup sugar, and only 1 egg. This is the kind of recipe that I don't really measure anything, I just mix everything up and pop it in the oven and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Way too sweet for my taste (I don't like any "sweet" vegetable dish). HOWEVER, my husband (who refuses to eat cooked carrots) loved it; he thought it was pumpkin! In the future I'll add a touch of cinammon and reduce the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States