Cafeteria Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not only am I new to cooking carrot souffle, I'm new to eating it too. I'd never eaten it before I made this recipe, so I had no preconceived notions of what it should taste like. It’s great! I don’t think there’s any way to mess up this one. I’ve made it twice now, differently, and it’s still good. I used the calculator to make a single serving in a small ramekin. I made a couple modifications for cholesterol purposes & for speed… un-melted “I can’t believe it’s not butter” instead of melted butter, “egg beaters” instead of eggs, and a bag of pre-shredded carrots. Since I didn’t boil, mash, or blend the carrots, they probably took up more room than usual in the ramekin (one time I poured in a little more egg, the other time I didn’t). One time I used baking powder & I the other time I didn’t. One time I cut the sugar in half & the other time I didn’t. I didn’t have confectioners’ sugar either time, so I sprinkled with brown sugar. I’ve already recommended this recipe to others, and I’ll definitely be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very mild and delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great dish! This turned out exactly as I had hoped -- both flavor and texture wise. I followed the recipe as written, and it came out of the oven virtually perfect. I cooked it the day before Thanksgiving and warmed it up from refrigerated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. We have had it for the past few years for Thanksgiving instead of sweet potato casserole/candied yams. I always add a little ground cinnamon. This year, I ran out of room in the oven, so I made it in the crock pot (2 hours/High). It worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this 12 servings and cooked in a 3 quart Pyrex at 350 for 1hr 15min and it was AMAZING! The entire family loved it, even the kids! I didn't add any confectioners sugar to the top, it was really sweet to begin with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LikeAButerfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is the YUMMIEST carrot recipe EVER! The trick is to use a food processor and puree the carrots. I use 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar the rest is the same. I have catered this dish at rehearsal dinners and its always on our holiday table! A family favorite! My husband calls it carrot candy! HA! Men!!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
If one separates the egg whites and yolks ...beat the whites and slightly beat the yolks before mixing in...makes the product more fluffy....try it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This smelled so good while it was baking. Everyone was excited to try it, but no one liked it. I can't explain why, but it had an almost artificial flavor to it. I hate to give any recipe such a low rating, but this was just not to our liking and we usually love carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I make it pretty often since my husband is picky about what kinds of veggies he'll eat, but he loves carrots. Instead of boiling my own carrots, I use 2 cans of canned carrots. I also use less butter and sugar, around 2 tablespoons of butter and maybe 1/3 to 1/2 cup sugar, and only 1 egg. This is the kind of recipe that I don't really measure anything, I just mix everything up and pop it in the oven and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Way too sweet for my taste (I don't like any "sweet" vegetable dish). HOWEVER, my husband (who refuses to eat cooked carrots) loved it; he thought it was pumpkin! In the future I'll add a touch of cinammon and reduce the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States