Cafeteria Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I recommend that the carrots be put into a blender or food processor unless you like chunks of carrot. Even add a bit of cinnamon or allspice if you like a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Better than expected! 5 stars. I used half the amount of sugar and kept the butter the same. The carrots took FOREVER in the blender, I will shred next time. I cooked for 1hr and it was not browned, just right. Next time I'll see if that made a huge difference compared to just cooking for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Definitely a 5 star!!! Took this to a BBQ and it was a huge hit. I read through almost all the reviews before I made it and changed these thing per popular opinion by other reviewers: used 1/4 cup white sugar + 1/4 cup brown sugar no powdered sugar 1/4 tsp. cinnamon + 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg pinch of salt baked for 45 minutes. SO good!!! And a great way to use up lots of extra carrots! Note: 2 pounds of carrots is equal to approximately 12-16 medium carrots OR 7 cups of peeled and diced carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I decided to give this recipe 4 stars, but it probably deserved only 3 as-is. My end result was 5 stars, but as written this recipe just wouldn't be right. 30 minutes in the oven will get you mush that won't even hold its shape. It is quite frustrating to think you need 50 minutes to make something but it turns out to be closer to two hours. I make my own baby food, which that knowledge was a big plus in "pureeing" the carrots. I steamed 2 lbs of baby carrots for about 40 minutes. I then transferred them to my food processor and added all the "liquids" (melted butter, eggs, vanilla) first. Once the carrots were basically pureed, then I added the rest of the ingredients. I also added about a 3/4 tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 white sugar instead of a full cup of sugar (1 cup of sugar is TOO MUCH!). Once it was finally done (about an hour later), it was quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe. I added a little brown sugar and a touch of cinammon. It's so good and quite addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was alright. I cut the sugar, cut the carrots smaller & cooked them longer, but...Well, I guess I should have payed more attention to the title. If you've had the original "Souffle" then you'll notice that this is indeed like something you'd find in a cafeteria! It's not smooth & doesn't quite remind me of a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara K. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I halved the recipe and thought it was very good, but I am glad that I read the other reviews because half the sugar (or less) makes it much much better. I don't care for yams or sweet potatoes, but would serve this with anything those would go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Based on other reviews and personal preference, I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup brown sugar, and I used 2 eggs because that's all I had. My husband and one daughter thought it needed to be sweeter. My son thought it was ok but not great, and my oldest daughter thought it was two sweet. It was nice to serve carrots in a different way, but not sure I'll make it again with such mixed reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used the pre-cut baby carrot size bag and it saved so much time. I think next time I will use the food processor to make the carrots finer. The carrots were a little chunky using a masher. Regardless, it was yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States