Cafeteria Carrot Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Definitely a 5 star!!! Took this to a BBQ and it was a huge hit. I read through almost all the reviews before I made it and changed these thing per popular opinion by other reviewers: used 1/4 cup white sugar + 1/4 cup brown sugar no powdered sugar 1/4 tsp. cinnamon + 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg pinch of salt baked for 45 minutes. SO good!!! And a great way to use up lots of extra carrots! Note: 2 pounds of carrots is equal to approximately 12-16 medium carrots OR 7 cups of peeled and diced carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I decided to give this recipe 4 stars, but it probably deserved only 3 as-is. My end result was 5 stars, but as written this recipe just wouldn't be right. 30 minutes in the oven will get you mush that won't even hold its shape. It is quite frustrating to think you need 50 minutes to make something but it turns out to be closer to two hours. I make my own baby food, which that knowledge was a big plus in "pureeing" the carrots. I steamed 2 lbs of baby carrots for about 40 minutes. I then transferred them to my food processor and added all the "liquids" (melted butter, eggs, vanilla) first. Once the carrots were basically pureed, then I added the rest of the ingredients. I also added about a 3/4 tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 white sugar instead of a full cup of sugar (1 cup of sugar is TOO MUCH!). Once it was finally done (about an hour later), it was quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe. I added a little brown sugar and a touch of cinammon. It's so good and quite addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was alright. I cut the sugar, cut the carrots smaller & cooked them longer, but...Well, I guess I should have payed more attention to the title. If you've had the original "Souffle" then you'll notice that this is indeed like something you'd find in a cafeteria! It's not smooth & doesn't quite remind me of a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I halved the recipe and thought it was very good, but I am glad that I read the other reviews because half the sugar (or less) makes it much much better. I don't care for yams or sweet potatoes, but would serve this with anything those would go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Based on other reviews and personal preference, I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup brown sugar, and I used 2 eggs because that's all I had. My husband and one daughter thought it needed to be sweeter. My son thought it was ok but not great, and my oldest daughter thought it was two sweet. It was nice to serve carrots in a different way, but not sure I'll make it again with such mixed reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used the pre-cut baby carrot size bag and it saved so much time. I think next time I will use the food processor to make the carrots finer. The carrots were a little chunky using a masher. Regardless, it was yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not only am I new to cooking carrot souffle, I'm new to eating it too. I'd never eaten it before I made this recipe, so I had no preconceived notions of what it should taste like. It’s great! I don’t think there’s any way to mess up this one. I’ve made it twice now, differently, and it’s still good. I used the calculator to make a single serving in a small ramekin. I made a couple modifications for cholesterol purposes & for speed… un-melted “I can’t believe it’s not butter” instead of melted butter, “egg beaters” instead of eggs, and a bag of pre-shredded carrots. Since I didn’t boil, mash, or blend the carrots, they probably took up more room than usual in the ramekin (one time I poured in a little more egg, the other time I didn’t). One time I used baking powder & I the other time I didn’t. One time I cut the sugar in half & the other time I didn’t. I didn’t have confectioners’ sugar either time, so I sprinkled with brown sugar. I’ve already recommended this recipe to others, and I’ll definitely be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very mild and delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great dish! This turned out exactly as I had hoped -- both flavor and texture wise. I followed the recipe as written, and it came out of the oven virtually perfect. I cooked it the day before Thanksgiving and warmed it up from refrigerated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States