Cafe Mocha Mini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I played with the recipe a bit after reading through the other reviewer's suggestions. Doubling this recipe to make full sized muffins, I got nine biggish muffins. It turned out a fragrant muffin that was chewy and tasted almost like brownies. I'll make these again. I plan to write up my own recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tee
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are delicious little bite sized morsels of mocha. Easy to make, fun to eat and great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
First, they're very tasty. Now the bad news. This is not a muffin, it's a cupcake. 1 star knocked off for false advertising. Cupcakes have butter and sugars creamed together first. Muffins...never. I didn't know this until I made these, expecting to get muffins. I have an amazing Wilton non-stick mini muffin pan. I've never used paper liners for muffins and they pop out perfectly. These stuck to the pan...so another star knocked off. I will try a different MUFFIN recipe and add choc chips & coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
With a couple of changes to the recipe these were absolutely perfect. I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp of brown and 1/4c minus 1 tablespoon of white sugar. I used a full egg and doubled the amount of coffee. I also only baked them for 11 minutes and they were perfectly moist. Next time I think I'll add a little almond or hazelnut flavour too, so it will be a latte muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissAlisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These went over very well with the people I made these for. I don't make instant coffee so I found a one serving size of instant cafe mocha in a foil packett at the store. ( I think it was made by Swiss Miss) Anyway, I used that and they came out great. I will make this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because, like others, I followed the recipe exactly and the muffins did not come out of the muffin tin intact. They crumbled horribly. I made the following changes with perfect results. I doubled the recipe (because I needed a lot). Instead of two egg yolks, I used two whole eggs; I added 1/4 cup extra flour for the doubled recipe (I think that would be 2 Tbsp extra per single recipe); and instead of mixing in the mini chocolate chips, I sprinkled them ON TOP after the batter was in the muffin pans. I used about 1 Tbsp of batter per muffin. The flavor of these muffins is outstanding and the added flour and egg didn't even change the texture a bit. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These did not work for me. I think these really need to be made with paper liners because they just crumbled when I tried to take them out of the pan. They batter seemed to come out just fine, and they baked well, rising just the right amount. I let them cool as directed, but when I went to remove them, they just fell apart. I tried leaving some in the pan a little longer, but those also crumbled. Sorry - won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First off, I doubled the recipe and then added 1/3 more coffee granules so a full 2T. Didn't have quick oats just used regular cooking oats and let them soak longer in the coffee. I too wanted to cut the sugar a bit so I removed 2T from the 1/2 c measure. Used 2 full eggs without texture issues. Into the 1c to measure the flour I used about 2T almond meal and 2T ww pastry flour and the rest all-pupose flour. The chips I had were regular sized so I zipped them in the Ninja processor along with some dried cherries I had left. They were plenty sweet for me. Next time will sprinkle the tops with a combination of turbinado or raw sugar mixed with some more coffee granules to increase and layer more of the coffee flavor. I love coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I followed this recipe as written but with a whole egg. While these have a tender texture, are perfectly moist, and have a nice chocolate flavor, I was disappointed in the lack of mocha flavor. It was strong in the batter, but after baking~ was gone. I might be inclined to make them again and double the amount of coffee granules. Every bite was dominated by the chocolate chips, so that also might have been a contributing factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome little muffin! Oh so chocolately with just the right amount of coffe flavor - a perfect sweet little treat! I used slightly less than 1/3 cup of boiling water, added the instant coffee and then added some coffee liqueur to make up the difference (about 1 Tbsp.) I added 1/4 c. + 2 Tbsp. of mini chocolate chips to the batter which was more than plenty. I topped them off with a little turbinado sugar before popping them into the oven at 355 for 15 minutes. That provided a little extra crunch which was really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States