Cafe Mocha Mini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I played with the recipe a bit after reading through the other reviewer's suggestions. Doubling this recipe to make full sized muffins, I got nine biggish muffins. It turned out a fragrant muffin that was chewy and tasted almost like brownies. I'll make these again. I plan to write up my own recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tee
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are delicious little bite sized morsels of mocha. Easy to make, fun to eat and great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
First, they're very tasty. Now the bad news. This is not a muffin, it's a cupcake. 1 star knocked off for false advertising. Cupcakes have butter and sugars creamed together first. Muffins...never. I didn't know this until I made these, expecting to get muffins. I have an amazing Wilton non-stick mini muffin pan. I've never used paper liners for muffins and they pop out perfectly. These stuck to the pan...so another star knocked off. I will try a different MUFFIN recipe and add choc chips & coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
With a couple of changes to the recipe these were absolutely perfect. I reduced the sugar to 2 tbsp of brown and 1/4c minus 1 tablespoon of white sugar. I used a full egg and doubled the amount of coffee. I also only baked them for 11 minutes and they were perfectly moist. Next time I think I'll add a little almond or hazelnut flavour too, so it will be a latte muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissAlisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These went over very well with the people I made these for. I don't make instant coffee so I found a one serving size of instant cafe mocha in a foil packett at the store. ( I think it was made by Swiss Miss) Anyway, I used that and they came out great. I will make this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because, like others, I followed the recipe exactly and the muffins did not come out of the muffin tin intact. They crumbled horribly. I made the following changes with perfect results. I doubled the recipe (because I needed a lot). Instead of two egg yolks, I used two whole eggs; I added 1/4 cup extra flour for the doubled recipe (I think that would be 2 Tbsp extra per single recipe); and instead of mixing in the mini chocolate chips, I sprinkled them ON TOP after the batter was in the muffin pans. I used about 1 Tbsp of batter per muffin. The flavor of these muffins is outstanding and the added flour and egg didn't even change the texture a bit. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These did not work for me. I think these really need to be made with paper liners because they just crumbled when I tried to take them out of the pan. They batter seemed to come out just fine, and they baked well, rising just the right amount. I let them cool as directed, but when I went to remove them, they just fell apart. I tried leaving some in the pan a little longer, but those also crumbled. Sorry - won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First off, I doubled the recipe and then added 1/3 more coffee granules so a full 2T. Didn't have quick oats just used regular cooking oats and let them soak longer in the coffee. I too wanted to cut the sugar a bit so I removed 2T from the 1/2 c measure. Used 2 full eggs without texture issues. Into the 1c to measure the flour I used about 2T almond meal and 2T ww pastry flour and the rest all-pupose flour. The chips I had were regular sized so I zipped them in the Ninja processor along with some dried cherries I had left. They were plenty sweet for me. Next time will sprinkle the tops with a combination of turbinado or raw sugar mixed with some more coffee granules to increase and layer more of the coffee flavor. I love coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I followed this recipe as written but with a whole egg. While these have a tender texture, are perfectly moist, and have a nice chocolate flavor, I was disappointed in the lack of mocha flavor. It was strong in the batter, but after baking~ was gone. I might be inclined to make them again and double the amount of coffee granules. Every bite was dominated by the chocolate chips, so that also might have been a contributing factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome little muffin! Oh so chocolately with just the right amount of coffe flavor - a perfect sweet little treat! I used slightly less than 1/3 cup of boiling water, added the instant coffee and then added some coffee liqueur to make up the difference (about 1 Tbsp.) I added 1/4 c. + 2 Tbsp. of mini chocolate chips to the batter which was more than plenty. I topped them off with a little turbinado sugar before popping them into the oven at 355 for 15 minutes. That provided a little extra crunch which was really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States