Caesar Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I think you could coddle the egg if you don't have egg substitute. Also, I use a little less anchovy because they can be really salty but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I make homemade Caesars at least twice a week and eat it whenever I go out. When I saw this recipe, I figured I would give it a shot. I didn't have the vinegar but tried the ground mustard and egg sub. Everything else is how I usually make it except I add 2 tsp of worcestercire (there are 2 listings for lemon juice in this recipe and I am wondering if one of them is for that....). The ground mustard (not the same as jarred mustard, taste it!) flavor gave it a kick that wasn't bad. The only problem I had was that I usually poach an egg for 45 seconds in boiling water rather than using the egg sub. The poached egg yolk, even over a regular uncooked egg yolk, gives a creamy consistency I couldn't get with the substitute. I whisked for several minutes (usually the longer you whisk, the creamier it gets) and could not get the consistency I wanted. Also, an entire 2oz can of anchovies is a crazy amount. If you really want to use all that, rinse it first or it will be terribly salty. Typically I use a tsp of anchovy paste, which blends better, then a few finely chopped anchovies mixed in with a couple more layered on top if people want them. Anyway, skip the egg sub and just use the single POACHED egg yolk. It makes a whole different dressing and flavor. Then add more of the various ingredients to taste. BTW don't forget the homemade garlic croutons! (See photo). A really good Caesar is well worth learning to make. I learned a lot here. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The best Caesar dressing I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Not your traditional dressing, very salty and very bland at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I made this last night and cut the recipe for 2. The only change I made was to poach an egg and add to other ingredients. It was delicious! Thanks Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Quick to prepare and very tasty. The dressing has a very appetizing flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I really wish I would have checked the reviews before making this one. It tasted too vinegary and we ended up having to throw the whole thing out. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Hmm...maybe it was me and my anchovies, but this was overwhelmingly salty and not thoroughly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States