Caesar Salad Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
So very superior to the purchased variety, that the modest investment in time is amply rewarded. Really an easy exercise in cooking, and the result is absolutely delicious, in both taste & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
A little too greasy for us following the directions. I cut the oil/butter by half and tossed the croutons with the mixture with a light coating of season salt to make up for the taste difference. Instead of pan frying I baked them on a cookie sheet at 350 for about 15 minutes and thought they came out better the second time. Great for snacking and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was my first attempt at making croutons and they were awesome! And so easy too. I'm going to try making a bigger batch next time so I can use them in salads throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These are 10x better than anything you can buy at the store. I usually tend to eat them before putting them on the salad. They turned out great. Can't wait to make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Delicious! I found myself just snacking on these. So much better than store-bought croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Oh wow! Home made croutons are WAY better then store bought ones. Great flavour and texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Excellent! Made only half the recipe because I was using a mini baguette. Instead of toasting in the oven, I toasted on the bbq while I did the chicken for the caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Didn't add the "ghee" although I did think of adding regular butter, but they were very good without either. I used 2 tb of olive oil and .5 tb of rosemary infused olive oil. I then added dry Greek herb seasoning to the oil mixture. I tossed the bread(used a day-old baguette, no need for toasting) in and baked them on a cookie sheet at 350 for maybe 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallieben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Excellent! The key is the toasting. Also, I did not squeeze the juice from the garlic as my husband doesn't do well with garlic. You could still taste it but it wasn't overpowering. Cooked the garlic only half the time because it got brown too fast. Had to make more because we kept snacking on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States