Caesar Salad Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
So very superior to the purchased variety, that the modest investment in time is amply rewarded. Really an easy exercise in cooking, and the result is absolutely delicious, in both taste & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
A little too greasy for us following the directions. I cut the oil/butter by half and tossed the croutons with the mixture with a light coating of season salt to make up for the taste difference. Instead of pan frying I baked them on a cookie sheet at 350 for about 15 minutes and thought they came out better the second time. Great for snacking and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was my first attempt at making croutons and they were awesome! And so easy too. I'm going to try making a bigger batch next time so I can use them in salads throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These are 10x better than anything you can buy at the store. I usually tend to eat them before putting them on the salad. They turned out great. Can't wait to make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I thought these were too greasy and too much work for the reward. For now, we will keep buying croutons at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Delicious! I found myself just snacking on these. So much better than store-bought croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Oh wow! Home made croutons are WAY better then store bought ones. Great flavour and texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Excellent! Made only half the recipe because I was using a mini baguette. Instead of toasting in the oven, I toasted on the bbq while I did the chicken for the caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I thought these were really good. I think when you fry the bread in the oil/ghee mixture you need to have the temperature pretty high or the oil will just soak into the bread and make them too greasy. I am making a Caesar salad from scratch so who wants to add store bought croutons when you go to all that trouble. Thanks for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Anyone wondering what the heck ghee is - it's clarified butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States