Cabbage on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Easy and lowfat - that is if you don't add a bunch of fattening stuff to cover up it up! This is meant to be simple! You really have to like cabbage to appreciate this recipe. This was a really great way to cook it. It was fast and easy. I sprayed a little Pam on the foil to prevent any sticking. I used minced garlic vs. garlic powder and added just a bit of water in order for it to steam. Once it came off the grill I added just a bit of light butter - simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I took some of the reviewer's suggestions (bacon grease, kosher salt, butter) and thought that this was great. If you don't do some upgrades it can taste a little bland. I couldn't stop eating it the first time that I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is one of the best ways I've ever eaten cabbage. We ate this numerous times after finding this recipe last summer. This has become one of my favorite BBQ sides. It cooks quite qickly, so be sure to watch that it doesn't burn. Also, be sure to add butter or margerine, it's what makes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was good. I sprinkled the cabbage with fresh cracked pepper and a little kosher salt. Added pats of butter to the wedges, spooned just a touch of bacon grease over them, and maybe 2 T of water. It was SOOOOooo close to my "fried cabbage".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Being on a low fat diet and loving the taste of fried cabbage, I wanted to give this a whirl. I threw in some onions and seasoned with minced garlic, cracked pepper and spray butter. I loved it. It "almost" tasted like the real thing. When I am dieting, I am always looking for ways to make the food I can eat taste better. This is one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and I really like this quick and simple recipe. Grilling cabbage outside on the grill instead of indoors keeps from stinking up the house (yhea!). For variety, try using cajun seasoning instead of garlic powder. But, both are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Awesome! I added a bit of seasoning salt instead of plain salt and used coarse black pepper. You can also add a tsp or so of Olive Oil to the packet and it seems to help it cook a little faster. I make this quite often in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I've been making a similar recipe for years. I have a few tricks to save time and add flavor. I microwave the cabbage wedges for 5 minutes prior to placing in foil. This saves about half of the grill time. I wrap each cabbage wedge with a slice of bacon (turkey bacon works great). I place a teaspoon of margarine on each wedge and sprinkle with Garlic seasoning such as Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I baked the cabbage in the oven instead of on the grill and added a little fat-free margarine. It was really awful. I don't know what went wrong but it was sharp flavored and bitter. Really disapointing because I love cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Excellent side dish with sausage on the bbq. I added a small pat of butter. Everyone raved, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States