Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MissBeeGee
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very good recipe, I made this for myself and for my husband only and froze half. This is very hearty and tasty. I substituted garbanzo beans (chick peas) because I did not have red, I also added fresh basil as I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBeeGee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgefield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
LOVED this!!! :o) My hubby isn't a soup fan, but he really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I sauteed about 5 minced garlic cloves and 1 medium onion before adding the kielbasa. Added the sausage and continued to cook for about 5 minutes. Instead of using crushed tomatoes, I used 3-12.4 (?) cans stewed tomatoes. I used a HUGE head of cabbage. Glad I did because still ended up with a bit of yummy liquid. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I make something very similar to this using chicken stock instead of the water and cubes. I also add paprika and crushed red pepper. This adds a bit of spice flavor and a bit of a kick that goes great with the smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Very good! Except I added 1 cup of chick broth and 1 tablespoon of chicken bouillon. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was my first time making this and turned out delicious! I of course modified it a little according what I had in my cupboard. Instead of a head of cabbage I used brussel sprouts and broccoli instead of celery and instead of crushed tomatoes i used a can of chopped tomatoes. It turned out more like a stew and my family loved it! Perfect for a cold winter evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very good made just to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made a few changes as I wanted more of a stew than a soup so I reduced the liquid to two cans of chicken broth but I still added one chicken bouillon cube for good flavor. I also browned the sausage as per some other suggestions. I added 2 teaspoons of minced garlic and left out the beans. I also used brown rice instead of white. My husband, who normally doesn't care for anything other than "meat and potatoes", ate two big bowls and LOVED it!!!! Will definitely make this again. I might add another link of sausage though. Just to make it a little meatier. Oh I used the diced tomatoes with garlic and basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilylawley
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
WOW this was great!! I added a little extra sausage and the cabbage was probably on the large side... but it left no room for rice!!! That's okay I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much with the rice. I cooked the sausage in with the onions, and added a bit more thyme and a bunch of basil from the garden along with a hot pepper. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by felicityjoy
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
yum!! this was good and relatively easy to make (the prep took me a good 30 mins), i substituted 2 cups of organic chicken broth for the bullion cubes and added just a tablespoon of butter in with the onions. this made a HUGE pot, i followed the 8 serving directions and mine would easily serve 12 or 14 people. good flavor, just no "WOW" factor to earn 5 stars. i would add another sausage link, or even an extra pound of some spicy italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Really good! I followed the recipe exact except for one thing. I only used half of a cabbage because a whole one would have been too much. The soup was not at all bland. You just need to put enough salt in, that's all. I could taste the complimentary seasoning of the bay leaf and thyme just fine. Great soup! Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States