Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was so good. Just enuf spices that I could handle eating it. Only thing is, had lots left over and it's just my husband and I. That's ok because I ate alot of it!!! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have always loved cabbage so this was right up my alley. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very excellent soup!! The only thing I added was a dash of red pepper flakes to give it some heat! Loved it and will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I liked this very much. Super easy and lots of flavor. I sauteed the onion, a little garlic, the carrots and the celery. Then added everything except the beans. I added them a few minutes before serving the soup. I did use beef broth instead of the water and bouillon. I also substituted a medium sized cubed sweet potato and a medium sized white potato for the rice. I just wanted to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty using basic ingredients most people probably have on hand. I had everything except cabbage, so I threw in a big bag of frozen brussel sprouts that I already had in the freezer. I threw in leftover white rice from last nights takeout chinese dinner at the end too. Teenagers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
We really enjoyed this. Instead of crushed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes. Nice and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I was short on time, so I used a pressure cooker and was finished in 1/3 of the time. Cook the onions in oil until brown, add meat and all ingredients to the pot, putting cabbage in last. secure lid and bring to pressure. Cook for 20 minutes at 15psi. Dish turned out wonderful! The only change I would make is to add more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Used kohlrabi leaves as that is what I had. Didn't add beans or rice (we don't like them). Everybody loved it...even my non-soup eating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wife was hinting that she would like sausage and cabbage soup (she told me to make it). I found this reciipe and chose to try this instead of our usual, and she is glad I did, so am I. As others have suggested I too sauteed the onion and sausage added some garlic some cumin. Used chopped tomatoes w/jalapenos. This really makes a lot. With the left overs I am going to add more rice and beans thicken it up to a stew consistancy and add dumplings. It is raining and chilly today....sounds like tonights meal. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Solid soup! My picky husband hates veggies and he loved this soup because of the hearty flavor even with some carrots and celery snuck in. Changes I made: browned the onions/ sausage with some minced garlic, used a handful of fresh thyme and 2 bay leaves, & added no salt until it was served (and we both found it didn't need any!). Take note - makes ALOT of soup so decrease the recipie if cooking for 2 or 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States