Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish was so good that I could not wait to sign on to rate it. This is delicious. I used two packages of the Hillshire Farm Smoke Sausage, a few sprinkles of Cajun Seasoning for heat and omitted the carrots. Substituted black eye peas for the beans and used Chicken Broth intead of the boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Whites Creek, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was so good. Just enuf spices that I could handle eating it. Only thing is, had lots left over and it's just my husband and I. That's ok because I ate alot of it!!! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have always loved cabbage so this was right up my alley. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very excellent soup!! The only thing I added was a dash of red pepper flakes to give it some heat! Loved it and will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I liked this very much. Super easy and lots of flavor. I sauteed the onion, a little garlic, the carrots and the celery. Then added everything except the beans. I added them a few minutes before serving the soup. I did use beef broth instead of the water and bouillon. I also substituted a medium sized cubed sweet potato and a medium sized white potato for the rice. I just wanted to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty using basic ingredients most people probably have on hand. I had everything except cabbage, so I threw in a big bag of frozen brussel sprouts that I already had in the freezer. I threw in leftover white rice from last nights takeout chinese dinner at the end too. Teenagers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
We really enjoyed this. Instead of crushed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes. Nice and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I was short on time, so I used a pressure cooker and was finished in 1/3 of the time. Cook the onions in oil until brown, add meat and all ingredients to the pot, putting cabbage in last. secure lid and bring to pressure. Cook for 20 minutes at 15psi. Dish turned out wonderful! The only change I would make is to add more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Used kohlrabi leaves as that is what I had. Didn't add beans or rice (we don't like them). Everybody loved it...even my non-soup eating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wife was hinting that she would like sausage and cabbage soup (she told me to make it). I found this reciipe and chose to try this instead of our usual, and she is glad I did, so am I. As others have suggested I too sauteed the onion and sausage added some garlic some cumin. Used chopped tomatoes w/jalapenos. This really makes a lot. With the left overs I am going to add more rice and beans thicken it up to a stew consistancy and add dumplings. It is raining and chilly today....sounds like tonights meal. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States