Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Quick and easy. Very delicious and chock full of healthy veggies. I added cayenne and red pepper flakes for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Great recipe. I followed the advice of others and used chicken broth and water as opposed to just water. I omitted the boullion. My PICKY eater husband, who LOVES soup, but generally dislikes my homemade soups really liked this. I did use shallots as opposed to onion, b/c of allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by djstephenp
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yum! Left out the celery and used chicken broth instead of bouillon. Also added a few cloves of garlic to the onion in the beginning. Cooked rice separately. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe today as the snow was falling heavily outside, and, enjoyed the fragrance of the ingredients simmering all afternoon in the soup pot! :-). I didn't change much. I did sauté the sausage, removed, and, then, I always sweat my vegetables prior to adding liquid ingredients; carrots first, celery, etc. I also added an additional can of darined kidney beans. This is a savory, healthy recipe when using low sodium products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Love it! I added tomato soup instead of sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is really good! ALL of my children ate it! I added chicken broth instead of the boullion and water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a very good soup that we all love - I've made it twice now. Very hearty and warming on a rainy cold day! As others suggested, I used a box of organic chicken stock in place of the water and bouillon cubes. I also used butter instead of the vegetable oil, and cooked the onion well before adding the sausage. We don't all like rice in the soup, so I made brown rice on the side for an option instead of putting rice in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Adams Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have 3 hungry guys so I doubled about everything except the cabbage because I had a nice big head of it already. Some people commented that it wasn't very flavorful so I used some garlic salt, some italian seasoning and added italian-seasoned diced tomatoes to the mix, and also used chicken broth in place of the water. It was bursting with flavor. I think browning the sausage with the onion helped immensely, and deglazing the pan and adding that to the soup all combined to make this one of the best soups I've made. Since I doubled it, I had tons left over, and it froze very well. It's one of those foods that tastes even better the second time it's heated. I love when my family makes a point of asking if I'll make it again. That makes it a 5 star for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Terrific on a cold evening! I sauteed the onions, carrots and celery until soft, then added the sausage and let it brown. Added the cabbage and let it wilt, then added the tomatoes, rice and bay leaf and enough water to cover, making sure to stir well to get the browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Skipped the beans, bouillon and tomato sauce, but added a dash of soy sauce for a umami hit. My boys didn't want the soup, so I browned the other half-pound of the sausage (I cut this recipe in half) for them, then deglazed that pan with a bit of water and poured that into the soup pot. Just needed some hot crusty rolls and dinner was served! Husband said he would have liked potatoes in it, but I thought it was perfectly hearty and filling without it. (Men.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I had never had this before until my dad requested it for Sunday dinner (he was ill and I'd bring him Sunday dinner every week). He passed away before the next Sunday arrived, on 4/9/13. I made it anyway in his memory, and it was absolutely delicious! In a way, he left his mark by asking for that dinner because I'll think of him now and smile every time I make it. Thanks, Ludy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States