Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by packer1227
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wow was this good. Made a little different, just used what I had rather than go to the store. Only had linguine so used that. Same with sausage. Only had sweet apple smoked chicken sausage and added some turkey bacon. Will surely try it with some pork sausage. Easy to do and very delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe!!! Even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I pretty much followed this recipe as written, except I used fresh Polish sausage instead of the smoked. I had some shell pasta and used that which incidentally turned out awesome! One thing...I boiled the Polish and ten minutes before that was done I tossed the shells in the same pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1oldbiker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tigerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and found it too greasy and also pretty bland. With the leftovers, I added onion, more garlic, a few more seasonings and a can of chicken broth. I think I needed that broth to counteract that greasy taste. I may make it again, but will definitely have to cut way back on the butter and oil and add some additional flavoring. The doctored leftovers were probably worth 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is the first recipe I have wanted to review. My family loved it...even my very picky 10 year old who doesn't like her food mixed. I took some of the pasta and set aside for her along with the cabbage and sausage. Once served she did something my husband and I have never seen her do, she mixed it all together and ate all of it. Not sure if it's cause she helped make it but I was impressed. We did only use 1/2 cup of butter and omitted the oil. We added a half a onion and smoked paprika. We also used smoked venison sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the olive oil and added butter and a lot more Parmesan cheese. Not necessarily healthier but definitely tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This has become a staple recipe in our house. Both my husband and I weren't very fond of cabbage, but this recipe has changed our opinion! I have altered the recipe to our liking. I saute the garlic with the sausage(any kind I have on hand works!),sliced onions, and carrots. Once the carrots start softening, I add the sliced cabbage, salt, pepper and a cup of beef broth. I let that simmer until the cabbage is to our liking, then I add the pasta and some Parmesan cheese. Plated, add a sprinkle of cheese on top with some crusty bread... DELICIOUS! My three boys gobble it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This sounds weird but it was really good. I do not add any oil and I halfed the butter. I used Penne pasta and added some more garlic and red pepper flakes for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this tonight. I would give it 5 stars, but I changed the recipe some. I don't usually leave reviews if I've changed the recipe, but my daughter LOVED this so I had to leave a review because she can be somewhat picky. I only used about 3/4 of a large head of cabbage. I omitted the butter because of my sons allergies and we topped it with mozzarella on our dishes. I added a small onion and about half of a tomato simply to use up some veggies I had. My husband and I felt like it still needed something (perhaps the butter and parmesan would've taken care of this). My 5 year old daughter originally turned her nose up at the sight of this but then ate 3 large helpings and declared I should make this again! I think next time I will try to use butter and parmesan and feed my son something else. I may also add paprika like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I wasn't thrilled with it, it was bland. If I would remake this I would definitely only use 1/2 the box of pasta or double the sausage and cabbage. I also only used only evoo, no butter, and added paprika and some onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States