Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
this came out bland, unfortunately.. i cut the recipe in half.. subbed chicken broth for the butter and bacon grease for the olive oil.. i, like another reviewer, guess the grease is supposed to be the sauce? i'm not sure.. i ended up adding a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup and seasoned it up with some dry ranch dressing mix.. i'm trying to think if this is supposed to be like buttered noodles.. and if that's the case i probably shouldn't have chosen this recipe as it's not really our type of dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBengston
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I added chopped onion and cut up some red, yellow and orange baby bell peppers. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So I changed this up a little. I used precooked chicken that I had frozen instead of sausage and added a handful of fresh chives from the garden. This was amazing! It smelled pretty bad while cooking and I expected to not like it but me and my husband and all 6 kids loved it and had seconds!! Just to help the next guy, note the amount of cabbage used, it felt like it was going to be way too much, but after it was all mixed together it was the perfect balance. This one made it into the cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Awesome! That was the response I received when I served this for our dinner. Will fix it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Simple, quick, and delicious! And a great way to cook cabbage besides making slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
We browned the sausage, then removed from the pan and cooked the cabbage in the drippings and olive oil, until it started to brown before adding the garlic and cooking for a couple minutes. Mixed in the cooked sausage, 1T butter and pasta, then topped with the parmesan just before serving. Made this way, we loved it. The recipe as written seems like it would be terribly greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by packer1227
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wow was this good. Made a little different, just used what I had rather than go to the store. Only had linguine so used that. Same with sausage. Only had sweet apple smoked chicken sausage and added some turkey bacon. Will surely try it with some pork sausage. Easy to do and very delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe!!! Even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I pretty much followed this recipe as written, except I used fresh Polish sausage instead of the smoked. I had some shell pasta and used that which incidentally turned out awesome! One thing...I boiled the Polish and ten minutes before that was done I tossed the shells in the same pot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1oldbiker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tigerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and found it too greasy and also pretty bland. With the leftovers, I added onion, more garlic, a few more seasonings and a can of chicken broth. I think I needed that broth to counteract that greasy taste. I may make it again, but will definitely have to cut way back on the butter and oil and add some additional flavoring. The doctored leftovers were probably worth 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States