Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is the first recipe I have wanted to review. My family loved it...even my very picky 10 year old who doesn't like her food mixed. I took some of the pasta and set aside for her along with the cabbage and sausage. Once served she did something my husband and I have never seen her do, she mixed it all together and ate all of it. Not sure if it's cause she helped make it but I was impressed. We did only use 1/2 cup of butter and omitted the oil. We added a half a onion and smoked paprika. We also used smoked venison sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the olive oil and added butter and a lot more Parmesan cheese. Not necessarily healthier but definitely tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This has become a staple recipe in our house. Both my husband and I weren't very fond of cabbage, but this recipe has changed our opinion! I have altered the recipe to our liking. I saute the garlic with the sausage(any kind I have on hand works!),sliced onions, and carrots. Once the carrots start softening, I add the sliced cabbage, salt, pepper and a cup of beef broth. I let that simmer until the cabbage is to our liking, then I add the pasta and some Parmesan cheese. Plated, add a sprinkle of cheese on top with some crusty bread... DELICIOUS! My three boys gobble it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This sounds weird but it was really good. I do not add any oil and I halfed the butter. I used Penne pasta and added some more garlic and red pepper flakes for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this tonight. I would give it 5 stars, but I changed the recipe some. I don't usually leave reviews if I've changed the recipe, but my daughter LOVED this so I had to leave a review because she can be somewhat picky. I only used about 3/4 of a large head of cabbage. I omitted the butter because of my sons allergies and we topped it with mozzarella on our dishes. I added a small onion and about half of a tomato simply to use up some veggies I had. My husband and I felt like it still needed something (perhaps the butter and parmesan would've taken care of this). My 5 year old daughter originally turned her nose up at the sight of this but then ate 3 large helpings and declared I should make this again! I think next time I will try to use butter and parmesan and feed my son something else. I may also add paprika like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I wasn't thrilled with it, it was bland. If I would remake this I would definitely only use 1/2 the box of pasta or double the sausage and cabbage. I also only used only evoo, no butter, and added paprika and some onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Good recipe, but the reviews are right. Don't use the amount of oil and butter called for. I used 1/3 stick of butter and it was still too much. Otherwise, fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great recipe , I cut butter and oil in half and used small wheat pasta, Added montreal seasoning and leftover ribeye steak. Very delicious. Also added half an onion with four cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I also cut the butter & oil in half and added onion as suggested by previous posters. I also saved 1 cup of pasta water as suggested. I am thankful that I did, as the cabbage was still a bit too "crunchy" for the kiddos even after the full 15 minutes..can't imagine what it would have been without it! Red pepper flakes were a nice touch as was yellow mustard..Would have also done less pasta. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was pretty plain. Not enough flavor for as much cabbage as it calls for. Had to add about three times as much meat. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States