Cabbage and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I used a fairly large head of cabbage and needed a bit extra red wine vinegar just as a previous reviewer did. I also took the advice of others and used a couple of fresh potatoes sliced up instead of the canned. With a few dashes of S&P and garlic, this was a really flavorful dish. I was shocked that even my 3 and 4 year olds devoured it! I'll be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My family loved this dish!! I changed a few things. I sauteed fresh red potatoes with the onion and butter. In a second pan, I added another 1/4c. of butter, the red wine vinegar and 1/2 a cup of cooking sherry (instead of the water)and the cabbage. I also fried my keilbasa till crispy. I tossed everything in with the cabbage and let it cook all together for about 20 minutes. My picky 17yr old and my 1 yr old gobbled it up!! Thank you for a great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fractalmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
You definitely need to replace the water with the red wine. I used white vinegar b/c I was out of Red wine vinegar. This was a great throw together meal for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Rather than draining the can of potatoes, we used that for the 1/2 cup water. We also added sun dried tomatoes, including the olive oil. Worked out great. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
this was a hit! browned sausage first used chicken stock instead of water. this was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I did use fresh potatoes, and chicken broth it place of water. I thought it was simple and DEElicious. Next time I will try the red wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOIEP11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was really good, although I changed quite a few things. I used turkey kielbasa, regular cabbage and fresh potatoes. I browned the kielbasa in the pan before doing anything else. I also added garlic and red wine. I will definitley make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzle Tizzle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Had some good Nathan’s Kielbasa frozen and then cabbage went on sale. I used the regular kind of cabbage. Had this very dish a few months ago when a neighbor shared with us. Hubby gobbled it up, but probably wasn’t aware it was Kielbasa. He’ll devour any kind of sausage but wrinkles his nose at ones with foreign names like bratwurst and kielbasa. It’s a head thing, not a taste thing. Made this about as written except used only 1lb. sausage to 2lbs. cabbage. I like a lot of cabbage. Didn’t sauté the onions or brown a thing. (The kielbasa was fully cooked anyway.) Threw it all in the crockpot. I mixed up melted butter, the red wine vinegar the salt, pepper. The red pepper flakes as some others mentioned were a nice addition for a kick too. Poured the seasonings over everything in the crock. I added quite a bit more water for the crock to cook all day. Also I’ve got nothing against potatoes, but I left them out, cause try as I might, with corned beef and cabbage and the likes, I am always disappointed with the dratted starchy flavor, texture and taste they impart to my beloved, melt in your mouth, cabbage. Guess I’m a purist. It was easy and delicious. Hubby loved it too. Good comfort meal. Good with cornbread to sop up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I omitted the potato as Husband doesn't like them (and CANNED potatoes??). The only other changes I made were to use butter instead of marg, and red wine instead of water. Husband took a few bites, and reached for the red pepper flakes. It just needed a little bit of oomph. I served it over egg noodles, and it was a decent meal - nothing fancy, but quick, easy, filling and inexpensive (especially as I got a great deal on "Buy One, Get Two Free" turkey kielbasa at Meijer last week). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
O.K. I feel a bit guilty because I substituted a few things but really they were minor changes. I used regular cabbage & I only had a 1-lb of kielbasa. I think it took longer to get the cabbage cooked as a result. I ended up adding more salt than I thought I would use and ended up putting pepper flakes in in as well. It turned out pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States