Cabbage and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wonderful flavor! Left out the butter and just sauted onions with a bit of canola oil. cooked potatoes seperately for my little ones. Can't wait to try it again with red wine instead of water. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZooKeeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very tasty, quick and easy. I used fresh potato sliced very thinly. Also near the end of cooking I add a little ground chilli flakes! This will be a regular from now on, as husband loves cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I bought a value pak of kielbasa from Costco, so I was looking for ways to cook with this. This recipe caught my eyes with simple ingredients and very little prep time. Great for working class gal like me. I took some of the reviewers' advice and added minced garlic and red pepper flakes to the pot. Instead of using margarine, I just used olive oil, healthier. I couldn't find savoy cabbage so I used green cabbage. Cook time is a little longer than per recipe, probably because I used green cabbage instead. BF loved the dish. To me, it was just A-OK. The red wine vinegar threw me off a bit, but still tasty. I probably won't make this dish again. I will probably go for recipe that doesn't call for vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by igigsti
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I grew up eating something similar to this, my mother's family is polish/czech. My mom did not make hers with vinegar so I thought I would try this recipe. I did not care for the sour taste. Next time I will omit the vinegar. I think it will be more kid friendly without the vinegar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good. Used 2 Tbsp olive oil instead of 1/2 cup margarine. 1/2 cup water seemed like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very tasty & great for a rainy night. First, I sliced & browned the sausage then removed it from the pan. Next, I cooked 5 slices of bacon until crispy and used the drippings to cook the onion and potatoes (4 sliced red new potatoes). I included the crumbled bacon with the sausage and exchanged the water for red wine. We had this with dark rye bread and Warsteiner. Prosit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Stored 2 half gallons for later consumption with original recipe. The red wine vinegar gave it a bitter taste. I'll have to taste it again later to give a more accurate review. Used 1 large garden cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I really love this dish! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and used some new red potatoes and used red wine instead of the water. Next time I will use more potatoes. I also added some minced garlic and a dash of thyme and basil. My boyfriend showed up and devoured it. It's a great meal and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I used a fairly large head of cabbage and needed a bit extra red wine vinegar just as a previous reviewer did. I also took the advice of others and used a couple of fresh potatoes sliced up instead of the canned. With a few dashes of S&P and garlic, this was a really flavorful dish. I was shocked that even my 3 and 4 year olds devoured it! I'll be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My family loved this dish!! I changed a few things. I sauteed fresh red potatoes with the onion and butter. In a second pan, I added another 1/4c. of butter, the red wine vinegar and 1/2 a cup of cooking sherry (instead of the water)and the cabbage. I also fried my keilbasa till crispy. I tossed everything in with the cabbage and let it cook all together for about 20 minutes. My picky 17yr old and my 1 yr old gobbled it up!! Thank you for a great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fractalmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States