Cabbage and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of margarine, used fresh potatoes, caraway seeds and red wine instead of water. This was good, my husband LOVED it. He said it tasted just like kapusta and reminded him of his childhood so I'll take that as a win. I will make this again. (I put a dollop of sour cream on mine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMRINNH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I don't believe in leaving any rating unless you've tried the recipe exactly as written. So I did. And it was a fine dish. Hence the four stars. The second time I made it, tonight, I followed the suggestions of two other reviewers. I added a healthy pinch of red pepper flakes and replaced the 1/2 C. of water at the end, with red wine. For us, this sent it over the top and into the six star category. The wine adds a polished, earthy note that upgrades it beautifully from an ordinarily good peasant dish. I'd suggest trying it both ways since everyone is so different. Regardless, we truly enjoyed it both ways and will be making often. Thank you so much for sharing, CaraMia. :)P.S. Definitely crisp your sausages (whichever variety you elect to use), prior to adding to skillet. Adds another, delightful, layer of flavor not to be missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I just had half a head of cabbage to use up so I cut the butter in half. (No nasty margarine in my house) Glad I did. And I used up some boiled potatoes from the fridge instead of canned. Instead of water, I used some chicken broth. This turned out great. This will go towards the top of my go to cabbage recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was sure good! Just like the recipe called for except had to use real potato's browned with the onions and regular cabbage. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I also sauteed red potatoes with the onion. I used only a half stick of butter, plus about a Tbls. Of olive oil, and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I just went ahead and used Boar's Head sauerkraut instead of cabbage and wine/vinegar and of course served it with spicy mustard! My husband was skeptical but he tried it and discovered that he really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hockey_Fan
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe, but like others I made a few changes. I used half a head of green cabbage instead of a whole head of savoy. Rather than use canned potatoes I cubed up five red potatoes and sauteed them with the onion. I sliced and added the Kielbasa to the pan before adding the cabbage to get a little browning action. I also substituted red wine for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great & easy to make! Good with just a side of corn muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We have this almost weekly and the leftovers are great the next day. One of my favorite winter meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States