Cabbage and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
My Polish mother-in-law makes the very best kielbasa & cabbage and there is one ingredient you MUST add to this recipe. Red wine. Substitute the water with red wine after the cabbage has cooked down, and simmer with the rest of it. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCGRAWACTOR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Good recipe. I used real potatoes though and cooked them up with the onions. then cooked up the kielbasa to crisp it just a bit. then added everything together. great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGANBENN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Had some good Nathan’s Kielbasa frozen and then cabbage went on sale. I used the regular kind of cabbage. Had this very dish a few months ago when a neighbor shared with us. Hubby gobbled it up, but probably wasn’t aware it was Kielbasa. He’ll devour any kind of sausage but wrinkles his nose at ones with foreign names like bratwurst and kielbasa. It’s a head thing, not a taste thing. Made this about as written except used only 1lb. sausage to 2lbs. cabbage. I like a lot of cabbage. Didn’t sauté the onions or brown a thing. (The kielbasa was fully cooked anyway.) Threw it all in the crockpot. I mixed up melted butter, the red wine vinegar the salt, pepper. The red pepper flakes as some others mentioned were a nice addition for a kick too. Poured the seasonings over everything in the crock. I added quite a bit more water for the crock to cook all day. Also I’ve got nothing against potatoes, but I left them out, cause try as I might, with corned beef and cabbage and the likes, I am always disappointed with the dratted starchy flavor, texture and taste they impart to my beloved, melt in your mouth, cabbage. Guess I’m a purist. It was easy and delicious. Hubby loved it too. Good comfort meal. Good with cornbread to sop up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My family loved this dish!! I changed a few things. I sauteed fresh red potatoes with the onion and butter. In a second pan, I added another 1/4c. of butter, the red wine vinegar and 1/2 a cup of cooking sherry (instead of the water)and the cabbage. I also fried my keilbasa till crispy. I tossed everything in with the cabbage and let it cook all together for about 20 minutes. My picky 17yr old and my 1 yr old gobbled it up!! Thank you for a great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fractalmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I cooked bacon down and used it and the bacon grease instead of the butter. I also used red wine instead of the water. It was super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Strawberry, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was looking for a way to cook hot dogs and cabbage--that's what I had on hand. I adapted this recipe using olive oil instead of margarine and green cabbage instead of savoy, boiled potatoes instead of canned. It was delicious and I intend to keep this recipe in my favorites box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I used regular green cabbage. It was a very large head, so I increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup. I also used turkey kielbasa. It was delicious! I'll definitely make this again, even if it's not St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was very good; I browned up the kielbasa sausage beforehand but would have liked more potatoes! Next time I will double the potato portion since they break down during cooking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I do this similar in a dutch oven with chicken broth to sub for water. Try tossing cabbage and onion in a little flour first; layer in dutch oven with pats of butter. Soak with broth or stock. Add quartered potatoes, perhaps some sliced apple and carrots and you have a great one pot meal. I also add pepper, crushed fennel seed and maybe some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very tasty & great for a rainy night. First, I sliced & browned the sausage then removed it from the pan. Next, I cooked 5 slices of bacon until crispy and used the drippings to cook the onion and potatoes (4 sliced red new potatoes). I included the crumbled bacon with the sausage and exchanged the water for red wine. We had this with dark rye bread and Warsteiner. Prosit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States