Cabbage and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
O.K. I feel a bit guilty because I substituted a few things but really they were minor changes. I used regular cabbage & I only had a 1-lb of kielbasa. I think it took longer to get the cabbage cooked as a result. I ended up adding more salt than I thought I would use and ended up putting pepper flakes in in as well. It turned out pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was really good, but took longer than what it said. I don't know if i just cut the cabbage to thick...maybe. Anywho it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I cooked bacon down and used it and the bacon grease instead of the butter. I also used red wine instead of the water. It was super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Strawberry, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Delicious! I left everything as is, but added some carrots (for color) when I cooked the onions. Even my toddler ate it all! Maybe next time I'll try substituting wine for the water just to compare, but either way I'll be making this again. Thanks for the reciipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil instead of the margarine. Also did add a splash of red wine (per a reviewer's suggestion) and think it did add some flavor. I also don't used canned potatoes, instead I used a handful of frozen of country hash browns. Good winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
It was just okay, lacking in flavor a bit. Five out of six in the family ate it all and the sixth one is my least picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent! Followed exactly... turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEDERSHS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was fairly good - but definitely needs a few changes to suit my taste. I used red wine in place of the water. And, I think that I would have preferred regular green cabbage instead of the Savoy - which really cooked down too much. I did use the canned potatoes, but I think I would have preferred cooked egg noodles instead as I've used in similar recipes. Also, a dollop of sour cream on top of each serving really can't be beat! Overall, a good recipe to build from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was delicious and cheap. I used 2 red potatoes sliced, instead of canned. Next time I will fry the kielbasa for a different texture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is one of my husband's very favorites. I'm not a fan of canned potatoes, so I slice up a big baker and microwave it for 4 minutes so it won't still be crunchy when everything else is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States