Cabbage and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very good cabbage mixture and I added some cooked turkey that I needed to use up. However, the dumplings were a bit of a challenge: very thick, dense, and chewy. I will make this again but will need to work on the dumplings. Regardless, thanks for sharing your grandma's recipe; we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My whole family loved this, including the 1 and 3 year old. I did make a couple changes, but nothing that would make me drop it a star. I halved the butter, because I just couldn't bring myself to use that much. For our family's taste, it was plenty. I also added a touch of thyme to the dumplings. We served this alongside some egg noodles and kielbasa. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Cabbage was great but dumplings needed some help. These create heavy dumplings. Lighter dumplings add more water.This is what I did: 2 cups flour, 1 egg, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/3 cup water. I boil with lid on 10 min then lid off ten. The last step seems backwards but that's how my Grandma made them and they we perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added carrots and red bell peppers to veggies. Also some crumbled Jimmie Dean sausage. Kids gobbled all of it! I liked it the way it was but some felt the need to add teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Delicious! I sauteed the cabbage and onions until golden brown adding a little salt at the end of the cooking time. Doubled the dumpling recipe and added a tsp of baking powder and a little salt. Boiled golf ball sized dumplings for 5 mins then lowered heat to low, covered and cooked another 5 mins before removing and adding to cabbage mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was very good and SO easy! As a previous rater said, I will definitely cook this during Lent. As is this recipe is very good, great for busy moms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Very authentic and true to the old recipe. Those of you who complain don't understand "authentic". Change it to your liking but quit harping, learn to cook and realize where the recipe originated. Bunch of dummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The cabbage turned out great. I did put some soy sauce in while cooking. The dumplings were a little weird for me but still decent. In the future I will probably not make the dumplings but just make biscuits instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Super recipie! I did as someone suggested and boiled the dumplings (knoephla) in chicken broth, I also doubled the kneophla in the recipie. I quartered the recipie and used 1/4 head of cabbage, along with the double batch of knoephla it was easily a side dish for 2. The recipie did not say how long to boil the knoephla, I made mine quite small and when I had them all in the broth I cooked them for an additional 8-10 min. Such a simple, quick, and delicious recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Just like my mom used to make! Soy sauce is not part of Czech cooking, though, as some used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States