Cabbage and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I tell ya, my kids can be hard to please. Each has their own taste, but this was an absolute hit. I have a family of 5 and it was all gone, but 1 tiny bowl. I doubled the dumplings and put out soy sauce and teriyaki sauce to top it off. Simple, easy, low cost and the family loved it. I'm going to add some things to this recipe, so check it out and let me know what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
We (me, hubby and kiddos) like this best with the butter omitted and using 4 slices of bacon as the fat then served over homemade egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
If using soy sauce, as other suggest, omit the salt for seasoning as it makes it too salty. Yummy dish and so easy to make! I was confused about when the dumplings were ready but it took about five minutes in boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Overall this was a different and fairly tasty recipe. I sprinkled the cabbage with soy sauce while cooking and thought it was delicious, though would have been good with just salt too. The dumplings (which I doubled to have enough for the cabbage) were very heavy and bland. The dumplings need to be tiny. Next time I make the dumplings I will double the recipe, add 1 tsp of baking powder for some fluffiness and some salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Sooo good! My husband made this for me and he never cooks so it was a real treat...Very authentic tasting and not overly greasy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is really good but I too had issues with the dough.. Mine was watery and I had to keep adding flour. Just a warning for others who try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
this was really good. i boiled the dumplings in chicken broth and used the soy sauce instead of salt. thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was very easy to make and a very quick, tasty side dish. My husband loved it so much there was none leftover! I doubled the dumpling portion of it, which was perfect for us. A little pepper and you're all set! Nothing fancy here - but it would be good for a quick snack, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great cabbage, dumplings were kinda plain and rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made the recipe incorrectly as we got confused about the flour and water bit - only later did we realise the boiled water and the water to add to the dumplings were different. I boiled up some chicken stock - then just added the flour directly into the boiling water and wondered why we couldn't get a dough-like consistency doh! Anyway we were still able to make small balls and drop them into the boiling water to boil. Taste was as other reviewers reported, a bit bland, but this is good in that you can still add things - I added chinese sausage to the mix and it tasted good with it. Will also reduce the amount of butter added too, as it became greasy after a while. Reckon I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States