Cabbage and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
SO MUCH BETTER THAN PLAIN CABBAGE! I loved it. My son who will NOT eat plain cabbage said this was "eat-able." From him, that's a big compliment. And he did, he cleaned his plate! I will be making this a lot with the cabbage from our fall garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
It was enjoyable--- but at the end of cooking, I decided a splash of apple cider vinegar would round it out nicely! Which it did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Amazing. I needed to find a recipe to quickly use up half a bag of cole slaw mix. I sauteed up the mix and a diced onion in about 1 T. of butter. I wanted to use all the butter the recipe called for, but I figured I'd better not. Instead, I added a bit of chicken broth at the end of the cooking so that the cabbage mixture wouldn't dry out. The dumplings were so easy and made the dish substantial enough to be a full meal. I can't believe something so simple could taste so good. I'm so glad that I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I love this dish! It will become one of my staples, for sure. I was afraid it would be really bland, and I'm not a huge cabbage fan, but it really is just delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wawarsing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I opted to skip the suggestion of adding soy sauce and instead added polish sausage. They go so good together. I think it would be unbelievably bland without the little kick that the sausage gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was really good and easy. A nice side to make "something out of nothing" I was skeptical because the recipe didn't call for any eggs but it turned out really yummy. This is a great frugal recipe I will make again. I added some chicken bouillon granules and onion powder to the dumpling dough and poppy seeds to the cabbage mixture. This helped add a little more flavor and added to the appearance. I served this with Cheesy Acorn Squash also from this site. Thanks for a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My family liked this next time i'll cut the butter in half since i couldn't get the whole head of cabbage in. I also tried subbing half a cup of the flour for whole wheat and i liked however my boyfriend didn't like those dumplings. Definitely tastes better with soy sauce. Since I use unsalted butter and kosher salt i didn't have a problem with it being to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Good, basic way to use cabbage. I put a chicken bullion cube in with the dumplings and thought it was pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
this was really good. i boiled the dumplings in chicken broth and used the soy sauce instead of salt. thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I used 1/2 the butter and it came out fine. It was good, but bland. The next day when I reheated it, I added a dash of soy sauce and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States