Cabbage and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great cabbage, dumplings were kinda plain and rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I thought this was great! Very simple but so good. I used store bought whole wheat gnocchi instead of making my own. I am Polish and I grew up eating pierogi so my husband calls this dish the inside out pierogi since the cabbage is on the outside. Cabbage and gnocchi put together do taste a lot like pierogi. It really satisfied my need for Polish food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Can't say I'm a big fan of this one. Just made it and it's.... missing something. I added Hoisin sauce to the cabbage while it cooked. The dumplings are terribly bland. I don't know how to make this recipe better, but it's not great on its own, I gotta say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I can't decide if I really like this. There isn't a whole lot of flavor. I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I loved this but my kids didn't. I've got left overs for the rest of the week and I'm not upset about it one bit! This tasted great! I made the dumplings by using chicken broth instead of water like one reviewer recommended and kept everything else the same. I'm very happy with the way it turned out. I will be making this simple meal for myself for lunches often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabine Desmangles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is really good but I too had issues with the dough.. Mine was watery and I had to keep adding flour. Just a warning for others who try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made the recipe incorrectly as we got confused about the flour and water bit - only later did we realise the boiled water and the water to add to the dumplings were different. I boiled up some chicken stock - then just added the flour directly into the boiling water and wondered why we couldn't get a dough-like consistency doh! Anyway we were still able to make small balls and drop them into the boiling water to boil. Taste was as other reviewers reported, a bit bland, but this is good in that you can still add things - I added chinese sausage to the mix and it tasted good with it. Will also reduce the amount of butter added too, as it became greasy after a while. Reckon I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Awesome comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
loved it i just added some carrots and celery too and it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this to go with my St. Patty's Day Corned Beef. I cooked the dumplings in the juice of the corned beef that cooked in the crockpot all day. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States