Cabbage and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The cabbage turned out great. I did put some soy sauce in while cooking. The dumplings were a little weird for me but still decent. In the future I will probably not make the dumplings but just make biscuits instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Super recipie! I did as someone suggested and boiled the dumplings (knoephla) in chicken broth, I also doubled the kneophla in the recipie. I quartered the recipie and used 1/4 head of cabbage, along with the double batch of knoephla it was easily a side dish for 2. The recipie did not say how long to boil the knoephla, I made mine quite small and when I had them all in the broth I cooked them for an additional 8-10 min. Such a simple, quick, and delicious recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Just like my mom used to make! Soy sauce is not part of Czech cooking, though, as some used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Major yums! I used less butter--about half a stick, I just couldn't bring myself to use as much as called for--and since some had said that the dumplings were bland and hard, I made a batch of spaetzel from the allrecipes recipe, which is made with egg and milk instead of water, and added that instead. I also added a teaspoon or so of caraway seeds while cooking the onions. Fantastic! Even my boyfriend who doesn't like cabbage had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My Grandma use to make what we called dough balls, she grated pototoe on fine side .add flour .baking power and salt maix till doughy then drop small teas. in boil water till they raise to top raine them with cold water then add to cabbage.. good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Simply good! Because I was serving this as a side with a beef entree, I used beef broth to cook the dumplings instead of water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family loves this recipe. No leftovers. We are Polish/Ukranian and this is a perfect recipe for our family. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very very good! I added polish sausageand it was so yummy, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by espy2
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Something different but really good. Nice side to a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espy2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is a quick and easy dish, perfect to use up a cabbage. A little bland for our taste but we added some browned chicken apple sausage to the cabbage mixture and a little stone ground mustard at the end. Kilebasa or other sausage might work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States