Cabbage Success Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I cooked this recipe successfully, hoping for a recipe with more healthy vegetables in it, and it has become an easy frequent side dish for dinner for my boyfriend and I! Thank you! The ingredients are easy to find and simple to follow :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious! As suggested by another, I added 2 tablespoons of flour to the milk mixture and the sauce was nice and creamy. I also added lots of salt and pepper. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a recipe that you either like it or you don't. I say that because half my family liked it when I made it the first time, and the other half did not, we are ALL cabbage lovers. MY personal opinion is that I prefer the fried style of cabbage. I tweaked this recipe the second and third time making it. I added caraway seeds (1tbs) along with BLACK pepper instead of white. I also added some crispy fried bacon. Reduced the milk to half a cup. So that is why I gave only three stars. I for my taste had to make several adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe is very good. I did have a little trouble thickening the sauce once I put the cabbage and onion in the pan, as they both shed water as they cooked. I simply turned up the heat to evaporate the water, and it thickened nicely. I should have added more salt and pepper, though. At first my husband and I thought it tasted like warm cole slaw, but one bite led to another...and another. I halved the recipe and we completely finished it. This will be a do-over, and next time I'll watch my seasonings a little more. It's not a comparison to a fried cabbage side, but it's a creamy, delicious side all the same. Paired well with my meat loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was really tasty, a little sweet but in a good way that complimented the cabbage and onion. I added garlic pepper seasoning and simmered on low with the lid on for 30 minutes. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was really yummy! I didn't have whole milk so I used 1%. I am pretty sure it probably tasted the same only didn't thicken. Also, I forgot it simmering on the stove and when I came back it was a little curtled(no one said anything to me though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Tried this because it had basic ingredients that I already had..It was really good and easy! I love that it called for white pepper but because my 4yr old finds it" too spicy " I went light on the pepper and added just a little cumin. Everyone love it, when the kids will eat it it's a keeper-Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a really delicious recipe and so easy to make! A great way to use up leftover cabbage. I agree with some others that "creamy" may give the wrong impression, but don't let that throw you off this is still a great dish. I add a little flour before the brown sugar to make the sauce a little thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This tasted ok. If I make it again I will use a small onion,a tig less brown sugar and add a touch of thichening to the milk as it was not what one might call creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I thought this was very good. I made it as a side dish on St. Patty's Day and it got great reviews. I did find that the sauce was a little runny so I made a rou with butter and flour and added it to the sauce. It was a great improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States