Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was a great starter recipe, I added some barley, and some carrot and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Made it exactly as is. So very good. Even hubby loved it and he's not a fan of cabbage. The barley totally makes this recipe great, so don't skip it. After we'd all eaten, there wasn't much broth left, so we added more for leftovers the next day. I agree with a previous reviewer that serving it over pasta is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is one of the best soups I've ever had, and may even top the Old Fashioned Potato Soup I got off of this place!! For some reason, the local grocery store didn't have barley, so instead of going on a hunt for it, I decided to do without. This is AMAZING!!! I would recommend it to anyone! As a fan of pepper, I added a bit of fresh cracked black pepper, and it seemed to work wonderfully!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Yummy soup! Nice use for leftovers. I added a bit more garlic and a couple dashes of tabasco. I made a half recipe but kept the ham measured at 2C's. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very different from what I'm used to making. Its very filling and I personnally don't think it needs the added noodles. I only used half a head of cabbage and used a full cup of barley. Threw in in 2 bay leaves while the soup was simmering and used oregeno instead of parsley. I used low sodium chicken broth and still found the soup to be a little too salty. Next time I will use less broth and add a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This soup was delicious. I added a small amount of hot sauce to the broth to give it a bit more kick. Be prepared though, it really does clean out your system! Great for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was a tasty and healthy soup. Very easy too, just throw everything together and let it simmer away. I added two potatoes, peeled, cut in half, and thinly sliced. They broke up during the long cooking time and helped thicken the soup nicely. This made a HUGE pot of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is soooooooooooo yummy and it makes alot too, considering how much cabbage there is. I subbed some potatoes for the celery and had to add 2 more cans of chicken broth and 3 additional cans of water. I also substituted bacon for ham. It was a little salty so I will cut down on the amount of broth I used or the bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Delicious! I used one box of campbell's reduced salt and one regular chicken broth. I also added 3 cloves of minced garlic, a pinch of thyme and 3 bay leaves (remove prior to serving) for a hint of extra flavor. For those of you who felt it was salty.... try adding the ham in the last 15 mins of cooking, not only will less of the salt from the ham leach into the soup, the ham won't toughen up or become a weird pale color. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This soup is soooo good & filling. I added potato along with cabbage & carrots. I forgot to do the noodles but really didn't need them. I also left out the ham (I'm on a low cholesterol). Just a hint. If you don't want to use a can of chicken broth (high in salt & fat), go to a bulk food store. You can get the powder chicken & beef. Mix it with water. There is no salt nor MSG. I will make this soup often. Full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States