Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
So good...used smoked turkey in place of the ham and sauteed veggies prior to placing them in the pot with everything else. Added two bay leaves to simmer with the soup. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I'm new at making soup and this sure helped boost my confidence. It was very easy to make and the best part of it was that it tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Amazing soup! I make this again and again. I freeze it in large batches so that I can always have some on hand. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondie0824

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this soup tonight and it was a hit, even with picky non-cabbage eaters. I used homemade chicken stock in place of the broth, and put hot sauce on the table for those who wanted it. If I made it again, I might put in a whole cup of barley, but that's the only change I would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This soup was excellent. I used a honey ham steak which gave the soup a slightly sweet flavor which I thought made the soup. Also substituted orzo for the barley as my family are not barley eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I sauteed the onion in butter until it started to carmelize, added the garlic for a few stirs, then added to soup. Also added a half can of diced tomatoes (without the juice). And, a shot of sherry. Was very good. I am sure the original recipe is just as good- but wanted to add my own spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CreativeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good Simple recipe. I don't like ham so used Sausage instead. Gave it a little bite and was great on a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious! I was looking for something different for leftover ham and came across this recipe. I made it for some girlfriends and we all loved it. I was thinking about adding more barley than was called for and boy am I glad I didn't. It was just right. Thank you for a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very flexible recipe! I used ground beef instead of ham, left out the barley and added some macaroni noodles at the end. Also I used pre-made veggie broth. I did not have to cook it quite as long. Maybe 45 minutes. It would be great in the crockpot too after browning the meat. As other reviewers mentioned the flavors of the garlic and onions really carry the recipe. I was able to add some other left over veggies from the fridge (green beans) and it was great! My hubby took it today for lunch which is always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make. It makes a LOT of soup. We are a family of 5 and we all had two bowls and there is still lots left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States