Cabbage Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I added a few more carrots and celery just because I like them!!! This soup was so good, I am so accustomed to adding tomatoes I kept looking at it and wondering - should I or shouldn't I. Didn't, but I did add 1 serrano chili for the added heat/flavor. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this exactly as directed with great results. This is a very filling soup and makes more than 6 servings, even with a very generous bowl of soup. I'm sure the leftovers will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is a very easy soup to make and the flavor is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I used this recipe to create one of my family's favorite soups EVER! I made the changes based on my family's needs and it turned out great. We have a diabetic in the family, so I left out the barley (to decrease carbs) and added 1/2 of a chopped rutabega (for some potatoe-like texture). I would HIGHLY recommend this! I used 6-7 cups of chicken broth, not cans, just to cut back on opening so many cans! And, most importantly, I added A LOT of cracked black pepper, as one reviewer noted. The pepper completely makes this soup. Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this is a really nice soup. It makes Alot though. i did use less cabbage because i could only fit so much in the pot. I left out the barley do to my bf hates it, and i totally forgot the parsely. I did add a little salt. Very filling and pretty low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Surprisingly Wonderful! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and sauteed the garlic, onion, and celery first. The broth has a really good flavor. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Light and tasty. My husband really enjoyed it too! Added ~1.5c barley. Added about 3 cups of ham. Forgot to add the garlic...:( I never forget garlic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
yum. i also used a full cup of barley. i threw everything in my slow cooker for 1 hour on high then low for 4 hours. i ended up adding some water halfway through since i used more barley. i loved the creamy consistency the added barley gave the soup. this made a ton so i froze some to give away to family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very boring and bland. I subbed some of the broth for water, to cut down on sodium (I have an 11 month old). Baby was the only one who seemed to like it. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
this soup is very simple and affordable to make. i left out the barley and used potatoes instead added allspice and cumin as i do for most soups..it did not need salt as the ham adds salty taste will try with a different meat next time or without meat but overall yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States