Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This was my first time making cabbage rolls and I am sorry to say I didn't like this recipe very much and was asked to not make this again. Not only was it very time consuming (which will be ok IF the result is well received) but the rice was little too mushy and the whole combined flavor was just too bland. Apologies for the negative review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I love this recipe so much. I now make the best cabbage rolls in my family! And believe me when I tell you that is quite the accomplishment! The dill and the bay leaves add such a beautiful flavour. I had to give full marks for the easiness and quickness rating because this recipe is worth the time and effort and really does not take any longer to prepare than any other cabbage roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Great recipe, I boiled my cabbage and through a bag of success rice in with it, when the rice was done the cabbage was ready. Super easy, real tasty and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These are good! I didn't follow the recipe exactly. The microwave worked very well to steam the cabbage. I loosely covered the head and it turned out very nicely. I didn't sautee the onions in butter, and instead browned about 4 slices of diced bacon before adding the onions. To the ground beef mix I added about 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, 1 TB of mustard and 3 TB of ketchup. I left out the dill because I don't care for it. I also sprinkled salt and pepper over the prepared rolls before pouring the sauce over. I removed the foil after 2 hours of baking, and let it bake uncovered for another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Marrying into a Polish family, I was scared to make cabbage rolls, but these were easy to do, and were delicious. I think the savoy cabbage makes these. It is so easy to wrap the filling into, and tastes great. I did add a little brown sugar and worstishire sauce to my sauce, and my hubby raved about them. Even impressed the father-in-law. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I really enjoyd this dish i did take longer to prepre..about an hour and it as messy haha. I boiled the cabbage instead of microwaving which made it softer and easier to deal with. If you really lie lots of flavor ad more spices do double the sauce it is wonderful wil make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mz Lada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I like cabbage rolls, so of course I enjoyed eating this recipe. It was my 1st time making them and I don't think I'll make this one again. The meat/filling inside was excellent (I added a dash of cinnamon which was great). I did not care for the use of savoy cabbage. My brother said "Ew, the outside looks like brains. but the filling's good". I also found the leaves need to be boiled in water instead to make sure they are moist, not shriveled from the microwave, and thoroughly cooked. Also, more liquid (water) needed to be added to the cabbage rolls when they were cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
My mother-in-law make the BEST cabbage rolls, but won't share recipes. Sadly she is getting older and soon the recipe will be gone. I'm trying to find a similar one, but this wasn't it. Don't get me wrong, they were good, but nothing like Baba's, and my family is spoiled with hers so I doubt I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I think this is one of the best recipes that I have had for cabbage rolls for years. My partner and friends all loved it as well. They couldn't stop raving about it! Of course like any recipe for cabbage rolls it does take a while, but is well worth the time. I was able to feed 4 adults and still had enough left to freeze for a couple of weeks from now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
excellent recipe! Very easy. I used regular cabbage instead and boiled it. got rave reviews. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States