Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This is a great recipe! I have enjoyed a very similar recipe for as long as I can remember. We have this as an added dish every year at Thanksgiving. Most recipes call for you to cook the rolls in a tomato base. There is nothing like cooking them in saurkraut. I mean think about it, saurkraut is made from cabbage, they are a natural compliment. It is wonderful re-heated. They freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
OMG! I have never had cabbage rolls cooked in sauerkraut. I used my regular recipe which is very simular to this one with the exception that I add, diced peppers and a heaping tablespoon of horseradish to the filling. This gives it a nice little nip. I noticed that everyone cooks their cabbage. You dont need to do that. When you buy your cabbage make sure its clean then put it in a clean bag and tie it up and put in freezer for a few days. The night before you are going to make your rolls, take cabbage out of freezer, leave in bag and put in deep dish. It will thaw over night and the leaves will just fall off. I use to hate making rolls because having to cook the cabbage. Now I love making them even more. Hope this helps everyone out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Delicious! Much prefer these to cabbage rolls in tomato sauce. Even my picky 2 year old ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this recipe a few weeks ago on a Sunday. The only things I did differently was use tomato sauce and cook the cabbage rolls in a slow cooker for about 6 hours. They turned out EXCELLENT and tasted EXACTLY like the ones my dear grandmother used to make (who passed on before handing down the recipe). Thanks so much for this one - it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
My polish grandmother would never put tomato sauce on golabki and she passed without ever passing on the recipe it was all in her head. this is the closet I have come to finding one that tasted like hers. Everyone seems to want to pour on tomatos!!! Good in the crock pot ,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I halved this recipe & only used ground beef, no sausage. I also cooked it in the crock pot. I put the sauerkraut in the pot first then layered the cabbage rolls on top. I poured a can of tomato sauce on top & added a little water. I cooked it on high for a couple hours, then turned it to low for about six more hours. It turned out great. I served it with mashed potatoes & we poured the sauce from the cabbage rolls over the potatoes. This is one of those comfort food recipes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My hubby loved these. I cooked them in the crock pot. Put layer of sauerkrat on bottom and top of rolls added about 1/4 c water and cooked on low 7-8 hours. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I had not tried cabbage or grape leaf rolls in years and used this recipe as a refresher when I could not find mine. It is WONDERFUL!! Much better than I remember -- and the cabbage could have been fresher = still delicious! Changes: I cooked them in small aluminum "loaf" shaped pan covered with foil to save on time = no harm and much easier. The stuffing is smooth: maybe to some would be bland but, of course, doctor if you must. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I have never made my own cabbage rolls before and these tasted just like I imagined them to taste. I used only ground beef because I did not have the other. It still turned out great. I had some trouble with the cabbage leaves and would suggest to freeze the head of cabbage first as other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We make a similar recipe for the holidays but add 1 tsp of red petter to the meat and rice. We let it sit in the fridge for a day in the krout and then freeze. We reheat by frying in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States