Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
OMG! I have never had cabbage rolls cooked in sauerkraut. I used my regular recipe which is very simular to this one with the exception that I add, diced peppers and a heaping tablespoon of horseradish to the filling. This gives it a nice little nip. I noticed that everyone cooks their cabbage. You dont need to do that. When you buy your cabbage make sure its clean then put it in a clean bag and tie it up and put in freezer for a few days. The night before you are going to make your rolls, take cabbage out of freezer, leave in bag and put in deep dish. It will thaw over night and the leaves will just fall off. I use to hate making rolls because having to cook the cabbage. Now I love making them even more. Hope this helps everyone out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I halved this recipe & only used ground beef, no sausage. I also cooked it in the crock pot. I put the sauerkraut in the pot first then layered the cabbage rolls on top. I poured a can of tomato sauce on top & added a little water. I cooked it on high for a couple hours, then turned it to low for about six more hours. It turned out great. I served it with mashed potatoes & we poured the sauce from the cabbage rolls over the potatoes. This is one of those comfort food recipes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
You can freeze the head of cabbage and as it thaws the leaves easily peel away, but I like to cut the core out and place the whole head into boiling water and one by one the leaves boil off, this makes it pliable to roll, and you will not have to use toothpicks to secure them. (Cut the thick stem out for better rolling) I also think if it's par-boiled it de-gases the cabbage. Do add a good quality 1-2 TSP of Hungarian Paprika to this, and 2 cloves of fresh garlic as well. I place them seam side down & I cover the rolls with tomato sauce then sauerkraut and instead of the water for the Cabbage Rolls to simmer in I use tomato juice. Ready in 2 hours! Serve with a dollop of sour cream!Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This is a great recipe! I have enjoyed a very similar recipe for as long as I can remember. We have this as an added dish every year at Thanksgiving. Most recipes call for you to cook the rolls in a tomato base. There is nothing like cooking them in saurkraut. I mean think about it, saurkraut is made from cabbage, they are a natural compliment. It is wonderful re-heated. They freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this recipe a few weeks ago on a Sunday. The only things I did differently was use tomato sauce and cook the cabbage rolls in a slow cooker for about 6 hours. They turned out EXCELLENT and tasted EXACTLY like the ones my dear grandmother used to make (who passed on before handing down the recipe). Thanks so much for this one - it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
My polish grandmother would never put tomato sauce on golabki and she passed without ever passing on the recipe it was all in her head. this is the closet I have come to finding one that tasted like hers. Everyone seems to want to pour on tomatos!!! Good in the crock pot ,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
This is a great recipe. A little time consuming but worth the wait! I added Tomatoe sauce & poured over the cabbage rolls. I remember this recipe years ago called Golumki's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My mom used to make these growing up and I hated the cabbage. This was my first attempt at making them and they turned out pretty good. I scaled this recipe to 6 servings and used ground turkey in place of the ground sausage. In place of the water I covered my cabbage rolls with a large can of tomato sauce and baked in the oven on 350 for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
FOR ALL YOU TOMATO SAUCE LOVERS, TRY USING V-8 JUICE INSTEAD. SUPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I have never made my own cabbage rolls before and these tasted just like I imagined them to taste. I used only ground beef because I did not have the other. It still turned out great. I had some trouble with the cabbage leaves and would suggest to freeze the head of cabbage first as other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States