Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed the meat portion. I hate - repeat HATE - sauerkraut, so I chose to cook this in tomato soup instead (two cans condensed, mixed with enough water to cover all of the rolls). I'm not sure if I cooked the cabbage too long or not long enough, but we were kind of unimpressed with it. It was sort of slimy and tough at the same time... I don't know what happened there. I'd like to figure out this one issue though, because other than that, we both loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I don't like cabbage rolls with the tomato flavor so I was happy to find this recipe. This was my first time making cabbage rolls but they came out great. The only thing I did different was to use ground turkey. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
You can freeze the head of cabbage and as it thaws the leaves easily peel away, but I like to cut the core out and place the whole head into boiling water and one by one the leaves boil off, this makes it pliable to roll, and you will not have to use toothpicks to secure them. (Cut the thick stem out for better rolling) I also think if it's par-boiled it de-gases the cabbage. Do add a good quality 1-2 TSP of Hungarian Paprika to this, and 2 cloves of fresh garlic as well. I place them seam side down & I cover the rolls with tomato sauce then sauerkraut and instead of the water for the Cabbage Rolls to simmer in I use tomato juice. Ready in 2 hours! Serve with a dollop of sour cream!Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
My family loved this recipe. The only thing I did different was use a german hamburger/pork blend from our local meat market. It has spices in it and it MADE the cabbage rolls. This recipe will certainly be a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My hubby loved these. I cooked them in the crock pot. Put layer of sauerkrat on bottom and top of rolls added about 1/4 c water and cooked on low 7-8 hours. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We make a similar recipe for the holidays but add 1 tsp of red petter to the meat and rice. We let it sit in the fridge for a day in the krout and then freeze. We reheat by frying in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These rolls were pretty tasty. I made them for an octoberfest party and everyone seemed to like them. I added a little fresh dill to give it a little more flavor. I had a little trouble getting the inner leaves off in one piece. I will try to freeze them next time like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe! Finally one without tomato sauce!! To add more flavour to the filling I included 2 tablespoons of paprika and an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Not bad. A little bland. If you add in some of the sauerkraut juices and some hot sauce before cooking----wammo! flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coquitlamom3
Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I have cooked Cabbage Rolls for yrs. Usually simmered in a Large Tin Of Tomato Juice with a bit of Sauerkraut. Also, I sometimes like to do half minced beef and minced pork. Or Minced veal is great too. Great Recipe Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States