Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! I will be making this again and again. The only recommendation I have is to soften the cabbage before trying to take the leaves off the head. Otherwise they break. I put it in the microwave, in a bowl of shallow water. Approx. 2 minutes per 2 leaves removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good. The sauerkraut and sour cream made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
For some reason my husband thought it tasted like corned beef and cabbage!! I just thought it was GOOD! Didn't miss the tomatoes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent Recipe...my mom has made these for years instead of using sauerkraut she use a head of sour cabbage.....better than a jar of sauerkraut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are an old family favourite! However when my family makes these we make a large roaster full.... even better cold the next day! I do have a few suggestions ..... DO NOT boil your cabbage, freeze the heads for a couple days in the freezer and then let de-thaw the leaves will be supple, also shave the stem part of the leaf. when you cook them, pour equal parts vinegar and water over the cabbage rolls about half way up and cook long and slow. A large roaster in oven at 250 for about 3 hrs. Such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1234lisat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is exactly what I remember from when we used to visit my Grandmother "Babba". I can't seem to find her recipe anywhere, but this comes VERY CLOSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIDANFREY
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was my first attempt at cabbage rolls. I followed others' advice and froze the cabbage rather than boiling the leaves. The filling was good and lends itself to tweaking if you're so inclined. Wasnt sure how much a 'small amount of filling' meant so I just had to use trial and error. I found an ice cream scoop was about the right size. I didnt have a pan large enough for the top of the stove so I used a covered roasting pan in the oven at 350 for 90 minutes then took the lid off and let it continue to bake another 30 minutes. My husband and I liked it but the kids hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made these for my first time, and they turned out really well. I left out the ground sausage, but I didn't change anything else. Thanks, Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I make mine with sauerkraut, as well but in the meat mixture I add 2 pounds gr. beef, 1 pound gr. pork, and 1 pound gr. ham. Change the rice to 1 1/2 cups and add garlic salt to taste. Layer rolls with kraut in a 10 qt. soup kettle, mix 8 oz. can tomato sauce with enough water to cover the rolls. Simmer on stove for at least 2 hours. We call these Sarmas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe is REALLY good! A great alternative to the tomato sauce recipes. I made it for my in-laws and they loved it. I will add a few more spices to the filling next time to give it a little more flavour, but this is a GREAT basic recipe and really easy to make! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States