Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were so good! As other reviewers suggested, I used beef broth instead of water for both the mix and to almost cover the rolls with. This added tons of flavour. I loved the density of the filling with all the meat. It's important to use the sausage or ground pork as well as the beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
We and company liked this dish, just really preferred my other recipe, had high hopes for the sauerkraut as we all like it....just didn't come together for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I have tried several cabbage roll recipes – all using tomato sauce, and we have never been quite impressed, which is odd as we all like all the ingredients. So this recipe was our last try at the cabbage rolls and it was a hit! My husband and my 5 & 6 year old boys ate them up; they were also enjoyed the next day for lunch. We have made these twice now and are making them tonight. (Edit) after making this again, I followed the recipe as stated, not so good, we threw them out. I realized too late, I went through most of the reviews the first time before making. Going forward I will (as I did the first few times according to my notes) par cook the rice and season the beef with garlic and Hungarian paprika. Then will cook in a casserole dish with beef broth (NOT water) at 325 for 3+ hours, or cook them in the Crock pot with less broth or just the juice from the sauerkraut if there is enough, on low for 6 hours. Made this way I would give 5 stars, but after following the recipe exactly I am knocking it down to 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did substitute the sauerkraut for a large can of tomato soup because I was afraid my kids wouldn't eat it otherwise. Turned out very good and my kids really liked it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWifeMomNurseAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were very good. Not at all like my Polish Mother-in-law's but hubby still liked them. Love the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this today and it was fabulous even with my mistakes/customizatlon. I used 1lb ground beef and 2 cups of cooked rice I seasoned the rice with bouillion,black pepper,red pepper flakes and onion powder than cooked it til 1/2 done then mixed the rice and (here is my mistake) i cooked the ground beef and onion. I layered a few cabbage leaves and 1/3 of my jar of saurkraut [rinsed well]. then added a small can of spagetti sauce and about 1/2 cup liquid from the saurkraut and cooked on high in my slow cooker for 2 hours then another 2 hours on low. It was Great!!!!!!, even my kids who dont care for cabbage and loath saurkraut asked for seconds!!! I cant wait for hubby to get home and try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was my first time both making and eating cabbage rolls and they did not disappoint! After reading other reviews, and taking my own personal tastes into account, I did tweak the recipe just a bit. I added 1/2 teaspoon each of granulated garlic, paprika and onion powder as well as a spoonful of horseradish. I was also worried that the rice might not cook all the way, or at least to my liking, so I par-cooked it in some beef broth first. I didn't think I liked sauerkraut and was worried that it might have an overwhelming flavor, so I used a can of condensed tomato soup mixed with the water that I poured over the cabbage rolls. Overall, I thought that was a really great recipe and I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love this! One of my favorites with some mashed potatoes and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious! I do these in the crock pot. No need to add any water to the pot, juice from sauerkraut is enough. I do them on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't alter the recipe and it was a big hit. My six-year old son also liked it. Now, that's high praise! I actually didn't like sauerkraut until I tried this recipe - and that is not an exaggeration. My husband loves sauerkraut, so now we have a sauerkraut dish we can enjoy together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States