Cabbage Rolls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I liked this recipe it reminded me of my favorite "pigs in a blanket" my mother made when I was a kid. However, it needed MORE sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gustafson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I only used the beef. I sauté a finely minced garlic clove with diced onion in the pot I made the rice in, no reason to dirty another pan. I added greek seasonings and plenty of ground black pepper. I used the very large outer cabbage leaves to line the 9x13 pan and proceeded. I added the sauerkraut to the tops of the rolls and mixed a little brown sugar in with tomato sauce and baked 'em. I did freeze the whole cabbage a day prior. leaves came off perfect. I will make cabbage rolls with sauerkraut from now on. great taste and excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This turned out great! I needed a recipe that didn't use tomato. My husband grew up on cabbage rolls and he admitted he was worried when I told him there were no tomatoes. After dinner he told me he didn't miss them at all! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was one of three meals that I cooked in one day and turned out to be one of my favorites. I followed the recipe closely, except that I only used 1/2 a can of sauerkraut (I wasn't sure how it would taste) and seasoned the meat with Italian Seasoning. YUMMY!! I also poured a can of spaghetti sauce, sprinkled Parmesan cheese and backed for over an hour. My only mistake was not coring the cabbage and maybe taking them out of the oven prematurely. Next time, I will core and boil the leaves longer and will bake for about 2 hours or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are the cabbage rolls I grew up eating. Grandma always used ground beef and ground pork, she also added some chopped garlic and a spoonful of Hungarian paprika and didn't bother with the toothpicks. I don't know why everyone wants to add tomato sauce to them. Cabbage rolls cooked in tomato sauce are good but try them with just the sour kraut. I cook them in the crock pot (grandma would have loved that)or bake them in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours. They also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V. Low
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was really good, family enjoyed it. However, I did add garlic and paprika to the stuffing and also added tomato sauce to the liquid when boiling the rolls. I also pre-boiled the rice in chicken stock just in case that did not cook like another reviewer indicated. Overall, delicious - have left overs which will be frozen for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
these all sound ok, but i've been making cabbage rolls over 40 years and all my hungarian and polish friends use 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork and uncooked rice and garlic. i now make cabbage roll casserole (layer cabbage in bottom of roaster then meat and rice mixture and layer cabbage on top,cover with tomato topping or sauerkraut and bake 3 or 4 hour adding more liquid as needed. much easier and faster. served this to an oriental lady (she never had this before and loved it) and two seniors in their nineties (they came back for seconds). it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Excellent! Making again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but cooked in V8 like a review said. Also added a few garlics. Oh, I substituted the regular cabbage for sour head cabbage. You can find it in the supermarket. It is wrapped. I also took the sauerkraut and added accordingly to the beef mixture. Just a hint of it. It turned out pretty good! I will make it again...and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Pennell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Reading all the reviews before trying this for an annual Oktoberfest party, I modified the recipe and added 1 heaping T minced garlic, 1 T horseradish, and 2 tsp Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture. I also cooked the rice almost through using beef broth and let cool before adding to meat mixture, and used 1 c tomato sauce instead of water in the meat mixture. I used a large covered casserole dish to make this, layering sauerkraut, then the cabbage rolls, then sauerkraut, and then poured enough spicy V-8 juice over the top of the rolls until almost covered. I then covered the dish and baked at 300 deg for 4 hours. Absolutely fantastic (very flavorful!) and lots of compliments at the party! Will definitely make again! NOTE: I didn't trust myself not tearing many of the leaves, so I used 2 heads of cabbage , cut out the core and boiled the heads. Leaves separated nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zindoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States