Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
There wasn't enough sauce. Too much lemon in the sauce. Too much pepper in the hamburger. I am going to try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but for a couple of things. (1) the meat mixture is pretty bland so next time I will add something other than salt and pepper and (2) I changed the sauce and used tomato soup but still added lemon juice; none of the other sauce ingredients and it still was not enough. I read several reviews and followed the advice of boiling the whole head of cabbage first. This worked out very well. I also cut out the hard center of each leaf and this made for a perfectly folded "pouch". This is a great basic recipe that screams for your special touch and tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
WAY more tasty than I even thought they would be!! They sounded so good and so easy, so I went ahead and made them tonight, even though I had something completely different in mind for my ground beef and Italian sausage. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the addition of a half pound of sausage to the mixture and doubled the sauce. I also added some diced tomatoes and the rest of the cabbage, chopped up, to the sauce. Would be delicious with or without the additions. This recipe is a keeper, for sure! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is the 2nd cabbage roll recipe I've tried in a month & I am never cooking cabbage rolls again. Both of them got 1 star, but the other recipe did have a much better flavor than this one, more tomato sauce was added. Both of them I couldn't eat, neither one cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Wow! I used this basically as a base recipe with just a few small moderations. Nothing that would have changed it much though. The only thing I changed was the sauce. Oh and baked for 1 hr 45 mins @ 375 cause I was in a rush for dinner. First time I have ever had cabbage rolls and have a very picky husband! This was delish!!! So good that I'm making them 2 days in a row and doubled the recipe! Sooo glad I got curious about trying these!! This is going to be a frequent meal for us!! Thanx so much!! Would give it more than 5 if I could!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These were delicious, though I was outvoted by the family to omit the tomato sauce. I'll get my way next time, as they were a bit dry without it. I must admit I added a half pound of ground pork to the already perfect mixture, only because that's how my father made them for years. This is a classic cabbage roll recipe that you can't go wrong on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I looooove my moms cabbage rolls she always made it for me so when I moved away I really really missed it. I decided to try this recipe and I'm glad I did! It tastes just like my moms sarma. It does need a bit of help though. I used kisili kupus. (Sour cabbage) it's important to cut off the spine of each leaf. I used half extra lean ground beef and ground pork like my mom did. I put a small can of tomato sauce right in the mixture and a bit more onions and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't use that much black pepper either. Mixed it with my hand and I rolled em up and put them in the slow cooker. I put a bunch of water in there too enough to submerge the rolls. I cooked on high for 4 1/2 hours and half way through I made zaprska in a pan (heated some oil and fried some flour for a minute then put paprika in it) added that then added a tall can of hunts tomato sauce. But i had to put more water in cuz it soaked up almost all the water! It definitely needs this help. Otherwise it would get 5 stars but tastes so good this way with mashed potatoes. I made quite a bit like 18 I think. I got a small head of sour cabbage. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were awesome. I doubled the recipe, and made it as is. I think I'll add a little something next time...maybe minced radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe exactly as-is with 80% lean ground beef and it turned out fabulous. Next time I will try doubling the sauce but this recipe is great. We had to fight over leftovers! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used A-1 instead of Worcestershire, brown rice, and spaghetti sauce, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States