Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
As a vegetarian I used morning star veggie crumbles and it was simply delicious!!! My dad loved it!! (Hard to please when it comes to vegetarian dishes!). I used 1/3 of a cup for the filling and it was a perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Replaced beef with turkey and brown rice instead of white!! Very cheap and healthy meal I doubled meat and sauce x4 froze the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a decent start to what could be a great recipe. The actual meat needs more flavor/spices to make it pop a little bit. I would also double the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe is just okay if you follow it to the T, which was what I did. I felt like it needed more seasoning. So, if I make this again, I will definitely tweak it to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I would add less brown sugar because the tomato sauce is so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wonderful!!!!!!! I hate to say it but I did change two things. We used a local bulk pork sausage instead of hamburger and I am a mother of three with spontanious cooking and needed things done in 1 hour instead of 8 so I simmered mine in a stovetop pan for nearly 45 minutes. Was so good I can not wait to make again...with my own twists! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these last night and they went ovr VERY well, thinking I'd have some for left-over lunch today.NOT!!!! I did make a few changes, I put the cabbage in ice cold water for 10 minutes so the leaves would pull off the head easily. I got this tip off another recipe. I also par boiled the leaves for 4 minutes, then drained and cooled them before stuffing. I also cut back on the sweetness of the sauce!!!! These are so good!! Had garlic cheese bread with them and that's what was for dinner last night!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe! I am on WW and figured this would be low in points and it was. I got 10 rolls out of it with each roll being only 3pts and 2 rolls was all I need for dinner. I had never tasted stuffed cabbage before so I had no preconceived notion of how this would taste. However, my husband is Polish and he loved it as well and gobbled it up. He said the only difference was that this sauce was sweet whereas his mothers sauce was not. I did take other reviewers suggestions when I made this. I added some garlic powder to the ground beef as well as a little of the tomato sauce mixture. I also used brown rice and I doubled the sauce. I also doubled the brown sugar but next time I will use less. I cooked it in the crockpot for about 5hrs. My only trouble was with the cabbage leaves. I couldnt pull them off without breaking so I put the cabbage in a pot of boiling water and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great, easy recipe. As other reviewers suggested, double the sauce so there is some to use after they bake if you cook them in the oven. There may be enough sauce if you crockpot them? I wanted something quick so in the oven they went. Another review hint I used was to cover the rolls with extra cabbage, worked well as the rolls didn't get too dark, and it saved some tinfoil. no problem taking off the leaves when the cabbage boiled, I cut around the center before cooking and as the leaves cooked off, I pulled them out of the pot with tongs. this recipe made 7 rolls for me, my cabbage was pretty big and we stuffed them pretty good. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Tried it, the whole family enjoyed it - with the addition of various sauces. The recipe for the sauce should be doubled or even tripled. The recipe given did tend to dry up a bit. My husband recommended making the rolls without the sauce and adding an Asian twist and using soyaki sauce (from trader joes) in the slow cooker for the last hour or so with it next time. Also, I should have listened to the other reviewers about freezing the cabbage first. It was a true lesson in patience to get the cabbage leaves of the head intact - i wont be doing it that way again! Will try it again. Good base recipe - lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLaLaurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States