Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made vegetarian with veggie beef crumblers and organic Worcestershire sauce (normal has anchovies). Also used 4x sauce and baked, 350 for 1 hour, as recommended from others. The cabbage is near impossible to get 10 large leaves from without ripping them. I wound up putting the head in boiling water once for each leaf to soften it. It's kind of a pain, the frozen option is probably better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These were received most enthusiastically by my family. I did add a pinch of garlic powder as some had suggested, and did double the sauce as well. One mistake I made was add the brown sugar to the beef- and whoops, could not take it out, so just mixed it in. Not sure how much of a difference it made, but it did taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Like this vintage type recipe, very economical too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The entire family enjoyed this!! One of the kids even had thirds. I cooked mine on the oven at 350 for an hour as other reviewers have mentioned. The hardest part was getting the head of cabbage to release its leaves for me, but the praise from my hubby & kids made it all worth it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good, the only change I made was use V8 juice. I layed remaining leafs on bottom of crock pot.So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I haven't had my Mum's cabbage rolls in years, but I think these are better. I've made these several times now. Each time I doubled the sauce. Last time I used a lovely tomato sauce (strained tomatoes, actually) from Italy which made them spectacular. I cut the core out of the cabbage and boiled it whole, and the leaves peel right off without ripping. I also read a review (thanks, Avon Lady Lisa) that says to trim out the thick part of the leaf which makes it easier to roll. I baked them in the oven for an hour at 350, covered with foil, as suggested in another review. I love these cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was goooooooooood!!! to me and my folks. Now I made them according to the recipe and now i know how to make it so it will be a craving for my family. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
As other advised I added garlic powder and mustard powder and cooked in the oven for an hour. These are delicous and great leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe was great. I did take the advice of some others that commented here, and I tripled the sauce. My cabbage leaves were huge, so it didn't make 12, but it did make 6 large rolls, and that was plenty for us. I added the 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder, added more onion, cut the pepper in half, and I chopped the remaining cabbage up and put it in the bottom since the BF loves cabbage. Also, instead of boiling the cabbage (I was afraid that would make the leaves too soggy)I followed the advice given here and just put it in the microwave for 4 minutes and the leaves were super easy to peel off, and didn't get soggy at all after being in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
There wasn't enough sauce. Too much lemon in the sauce. Too much pepper in the hamburger. I am going to try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States